Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-20-2008, 10:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
My custom sump arrived


Name:   BROKEN SUMP 008 Small Web view.jpg
Views: 1281
Size:  30.3 KB
I finally got my sump/refugium I had custom made from Glass-holes.com. It was custom built to fit under my 46gbow cabinet(any of the standard sizes dont fit a 46gbow cabinet) The flow is right-left the first section is decent size as the Aquamedic turboflotor multi will still be hang on style hanging on the sump out of the back of the cabinet.The refugium zone is about 12"long x 10"wide and about10" high with teeth cut in the acrylic to prevent any snails from cruising. The light is a 65wflood light. Manufacturer states its the equivilant of a 500w light very bright. The return section is about 5" or so. Sump with light was 350.00 the overflow and return pump about 120.00 I am excited to get it up and running.
First I need to put it in the tub and fill with water to check for leaks(guy who built did already but want to double check)

Then I have to slide my aquarium onto the extra stand I have and partly disassemble my stand to fit my sump inside the cabinet and then slide it back onto the stand. will probably need to empty at least 50% of water to be able to slide it around.

And then I will just need to put all the plumbing together and test it out. Still a little curious about the whole drilling the hole in return to prevent overflow thing. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Buy some sand and macroalgae and I should be ready to rock N roll.
__________________

__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:11 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Yummie, pizza... You drill the hole to break the siphon, if your pump stops or during a power outage.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:20 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
The hole is drilled in the return pipes. In mine, at the gooseneck or loclines just below the water line.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
I just mixed up about 25gallons of RO/DI saltwater this morining at 8:00am I was hoping to move the tank and disassemble the stand to fit my sump this evening after work around 7:00pm hopefully I will be able to slide the tank without removing too much water. Everyone always states to wait 24hours before using saltwater for it to dissolve but isn't 11hours really enough time for this to happen? Then after I get the sump inside the stand I will mix up some more saltwater so I will have enough to fill the sump the next day and test it out. sump holds about 15gallons If I have to remove more than 10gallons of water from the tank I will need to mix up some more.
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad View Post
The hole is drilled in the return pipes. In mine, at the gooseneck or loclines just below the water line.
So that would prevent the main tank from overflowing right? but wouldn't the pump continue to pump the water up the line even if the hole is there doesn't the pressure from the pump force the water through the plumbing. Do I need to drill a hole just below the water line on the return line and the overflow line??
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:41 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
What I'm describing is a scenario where the main pump stops pumping. This can create a siphon issue that can remove/suck water from the main and overflow the sump. The hole stops the water from being sucked back.

If you're using an overflow instead of a drilled tank, then maybe I can't help with my description. Describe your set up again pls. Overflow box?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 01:28 PM   #7
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
The overflows will stop draining at a certain point, regardless if it's a HOB or drilled so you don't have to worry about that. What you need to do is drill a small hole just below the water line on your return pump line. If the pump stops and there is no hole to break the siphon, water will continue to drain from the tank and into the sump until something breaks the siphon. How deep into the tank is the output? If the output is only an inch or so deep, that will break the siphon when the water drops 1". If it goes deeper, the tank will drain till it hits that. Just make sure the sump can hadle whatever comes from the tank with the pump off.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 01:59 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I have my return lines about an inch under the surface. No need to drill them. The siphon breaks way before it overflows.

Are you really going to try and move the tank when it is somewhat full?
I would be afraid of breaking the seals and flooding. NSW weighs around 10 pounds/gallon, plus the LR and substrate.

The 24 hours on newly mixed water is to allow it to aerate properly. Freshly mixed NSW is somewat caustic from what I have heard. I do not know why that is, it's just what I've heard.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
Its a 46gallon tank I did move it onto my new stand when I got it not easy but possible. It is an overflow into the sump and a mag7return. The overflow box has a height adjustment. There is a tube that goes from the inside the tank part of the overflow box into the outside the tank part of the overflow box(pic above) this tube I am assuming will flow based on a siphon if this siphon somehow breaks wouldnt the return pump overflow my main display? New Acrylic Overflow Box and Skimmer Box for Saltwater Aquariums

Ok i just moved my tank and put my sump inside my cabinet and moved it back took about 30min or so only had to remove about 17gallons of water or so. I am filling my trashcan now with some more RO/DI water to mix in the morning tommorrow. The guy who built my sump is sending all my return line plumbing to me for free since I had to wait a while for the sump(nice guy). The plumbing arrives tommorrow its funny pipe and locline I think. I preferred to have him send me the plumbing since I really was unsure of what to buy anyway. So when my plumbing arrives I will probably spend about 2 hours just putting the plumbing and equipment together on sump stare at it to think about it for a while and actually start it up on Saturday. I am very nervous about the whole deal I really don't want this to go bad.
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 12:15 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
Ok I started it up today. And it works great no problems or leaks as of yet. I am extremely excited. It was nice to get the rock rubble and heater and skimmer down below the tank.I decided to just do my own plumbing very happy with it on the return line I have 2 shut off valves and 1 shut off valve on the overflow line to control flow in the fuge And I now have the right amount of flow for my tank. mag7 and 2 hydor koralia2's on a 46g I believe is like 1000gph. Next thing I need to do is add some Macro to the refugium and Get some clean-up crew. Feels good to make some progress.........
__________________

__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
custom, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you've done a custom tank/sump... dskidmore General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-07-2008 08:17 AM
custom sump coffey18 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-22-2007 04:13 PM
Custom Sump/Fuge GatorDrew DIY Projects 17 05-08-2007 12:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.