Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-23-2009, 12:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
New Sump Installed - Need Fuge advice

I just upgraded my 10G sump to a 20G Long with approx 70% of space allocated for a Refugium.

What kinds of substrate should I go with? Is it OK to just go with a DSB of Fine Aragonite in the Fuge? Or, should I go with the MUD products out there?
__________________

__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 12:21 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by goisles1 View Post
I just upgraded my 10G sump to a 20G Long with approx 70% of space allocated for a Refugium.

What kinds of substrate should I go with? Is it OK to just go with a DSB of Fine Aragonite in the Fuge? Or, should I go with the MUD products out there?
Generally speaking on the mud products, they require two things; a good quantity of mud-dwelling microcritters and a semi-constant resupply of new mud (which can get expensive). Not that all of them do, but many do. DSB also requires microcritters to maintain properly. In a 20L, I would think that going DSB would severally limit your water quantity? Just some thoughts.
__________________

__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 01:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scopus Tang View Post
Generally speaking on the mud products, they require two things; a good quantity of mud-dwelling microcritters and a semi-constant resupply of new mud (which can get expensive). Not that all of them do, but many do. DSB also requires microcritters to maintain properly. In a 20L, I would think that going DSB would severally limit your water quantity? Just some thoughts.
I was thinking the same thing re: the DSB.

My goal is to grow some Cheato and maybe some other MArcro flavors. My Display tank seems to have alot of Copepods already as I've begun to see them all over my glass. I'm thinking I'll just go with a normal Aragonite sandbed not a DSB. I'll throw all my LR Rubble in there with it. I might even order some more rubble for the sump in the future.
__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:07 PM   #4
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I'd stick to just the macros in that configuration. If you can afford the space, you can do a remote DSB if you wish to have one. I've seen remote DSBs made out of kitty litter containers.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
I'd stick to just the macros in that configuration. If you can afford the space, you can do a remote DSB if you wish to have one. I've seen remote DSBs made out of kitty litter containers.
OK... So in the Fuge, just the Macro thrown in?

I know I'm getting WAAAY ahead of myself.. But I invision a Frag Eggcrate Tray on top of the Macro. As I just added my fist corals which are Frags themselves, Iknow I'm a long way away from that.

So.. No Sand in the Fuge, Just my LR Rubble and the Macro (prob just Cheato).

Also..FYI.. My Display tank has a DSB
__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:29 PM   #6
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
you can put some sand in there, might not be a bad idea. As for frags in your fuge, what kind of lighting do you plan to have there? My fuge has nowhere near the lighting needed to support corals.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:35 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
If you got the room, I would definitely consider a shallow SB and some LR rubble, especially if you got pods now. As soon as you introduce a pod-eating fish, the population in your DT will decline rapidly and the fuge gives them a safe haven to continue to survive and propegate.
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
you can put some sand in there, might not be a bad idea. As for frags in your fuge, what kind of lighting do you plan to have there? My fuge has nowhere near the lighting needed to support corals.
Like I said... It's a LOOONG way away from me fragging ANYTHING...

I have a canopy for my 10gal that fits nicely over my fuge area. I just had to rig up some supports for it. I replaced the bulbs with 2 X 23W CF bulbs rated at 5100K. But, if I did decide I wanted to add frags, I would upgrade my lighting.
__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 05:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Here's a Pic of the New Sump:



Note#1 - LR Rubble is in the plastic box in the Fuge area. Just waiting to add some Sand before I dump it in.
Note#2 - Not esure what to do with that Purigen bag yet. I was thinking maybe putting inside a small filter bag and hanging on the end of the Sump pipe. When I had the 10G in there, all the LR rubble and the Purigen bag was in an Old AquaClear 500 which has now been removed
__________________

__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, stall, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skimmer and powerheads installed... Need some advice! Ge-off Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 18 09-30-2009 02:49 AM
fuge / sump General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-19-2006 04:25 PM
Fuge and Sump Bearfan Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 4 05-16-2005 08:08 AM
Sump or Fuge? Natterjak Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-11-2005 06:05 PM
Fuge vs. sump vs. both? mojo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-05-2004 11:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.