Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-12-2005, 11:04 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skymir
Wich would put the bottom of my 10 gallon WAY up in the air.
Or up on a shelf or small stand.. I think this is your best bet as well by the way..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:31 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
According to the highway link you could connect the tanks and then use your canister filter as a pump between the tanks.. the intake in one and the output into the other and the water flow would travel through the tube connecting the tanks keeping it clean.. you would just need to make sure that the pipe you use is big enough to handle the flow and not discourge fish from swimming through...
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 07:53 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ontario canada
Posts: 165
ya skymir u could have a 8 inch pipe on one and 6 inch on other.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~FRESHWATER~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
my new site www.tetraworld.us.tt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
#1) 10 gal- 2 mollies and 3 tiger barbs
~~~~All tanks below are planted~~~~
#1) 10 gal - just ferns
#2) 10 gal - a pleco and 3 neon tetras
#3) 30 gal - empty
#4) 20 gal - qaurtine
#5) 50 gal - mature plants with cichlids
madchild24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 10:41 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Skyrmir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 522
Send a message via ICQ to Skyrmir Send a message via AIM to Skyrmir
I looked at it some more last night and it's just not gonna happen until I can put my 20 gallon on a shorter stand. Right now the top of the tank is about 6 inches over my head, wich would put a 10 gallon with a matching water level at about eye level for the substrate. My Pleco is cool, but I really don't need to see eye to eye with him.
__________________
Skyrmir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 11:15 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southend, Essex, UK
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by madchild24
lol mines a littel more high tech see with the filter in the pipes the water is moving in the pipe so the pipe doesnt get clogged or dirty
(diagram posted soon) i aint got a digital camera
yet
The water will be moving in the other ones. The best way to do it is to put the filter inlet in one tank and the outlet in the other tank.

I don't think it is possible to do this with inequal water heights (short of sealing them and pressurising the air above one side...even then it probably wouldn't work)
__________________
andywg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 05:24 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ontario canada
Posts: 165
the 2 inches differenc worked on my fern and pleco tanks
(fern tank is 2 inches hire)
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~FRESHWATER~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
my new site www.tetraworld.us.tt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
#1) 10 gal- 2 mollies and 3 tiger barbs
~~~~All tanks below are planted~~~~
#1) 10 gal - just ferns
#2) 10 gal - a pleco and 3 neon tetras
#3) 30 gal - empty
#4) 20 gal - qaurtine
#5) 50 gal - mature plants with cichlids
madchild24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect two tanks th08tu DIY Projects 30 10-21-2009 12:01 PM
Connect two tanks? wideglide Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-17-2007 04:27 AM
How to connect 2 tanks on the cheap. Skyrmir DIY Projects 7 09-14-2005 08:50 AM
wow !! have u all seen this ?? 2 tanks, but they CONNECT !! Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 08-01-2005 12:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.