Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-28-2009, 06:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
MistaSparkL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 57
Not able to Fit Sump under Stand

My last aquarium sprung a leak, so i picked up a larger 90 gallon tank to replace it. I needed to have it set up right away, so I was not able to set up my sump. Now that i'm trying to build a sump--i can't fit anything larger than a 10 gallon tank through the aquarium stand's doors. Can I temporarily remove the center brace so that i can slide a larger sump through the front? The front brace looks like it is stapled in, and but i'm not sure how much weight it is supporting. Has anyone ever done this before?
__________________

__________________
MistaSparkL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BucJason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistaSparkL View Post
My last aquarium sprung a leak, so i picked up a larger 90 gallon tank to replace it. I needed to have it set up right away, so I was not able to set up my sump. Now that i'm trying to build a sump--i can't fit anything larger than a 10 gallon tank through the aquarium stand's doors. Can I temporarily remove the center brace so that i can slide a larger sump through the front? The front brace looks like it is stapled in, and but i'm not sure how much weight it is supporting. Has anyone ever done this before?
it would probably be fine , but I can't say for sure without seeing the stand.
__________________

__________________
"Ocean: A body of water occupying about two-thirds of a world made for man - who has no gills."
BucJason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:16 PM   #3
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
temporary supports, stick it under, replace the center style ASAP. Should be fine. Add the supports first.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
MistaSparkL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 57
Question: How much load is distributed to the center of the stand? When I rig up the support beams, will the load be great enough (after removing center brace) to sag and transfer onto the support beams? If so, won't it be difficult to replace the center brace if all of the load is then put on to the supports?
__________________
MistaSparkL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 03:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
podman1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: oklahoma city, ok
Posts: 165
i had same issue with my 72 bowfront i took out the back center support (leaving front) I wasnt able to repalce it adaquatly so I renforced all four corners with 2x4 that was 6 months ago and tank is still up!!
__________________
podman1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 03:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
MistaSparkL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 57
Podman:
What do you mean exactly that you weren't able to replace the support adequately? Where you not able to fit the brace back in?
__________________
MistaSparkL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 04:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
podman1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: oklahoma city, ok
Posts: 165
yea and I did this with a full tank so I wanst able to get inbetween the wall adn tank adaquately so i had to improvise
__________________
podman1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 04:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
podman1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: oklahoma city, ok
Posts: 165
if your doing this with an empty tank you should have no problems geting it back the way it was
__________________
podman1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
One Option:

Melevsreef.com - Install a Sump in an Existing Setup
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 01:56 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
I'd have to see a picture of the inside and outside of the stand...especially if you said the "brace" is stapled into place.
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

http://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
stand, sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my new stand, where can i get sump/refug? vincerules General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 07-27-2008 01:34 PM
Can't fit the sump under the stand!!!!!! austinsdad DIY Projects 3 09-30-2006 09:12 AM
Garf stand problem-will it fit? hannibal_lector DIY Projects 3 10-08-2005 11:04 AM
How 'tight' should I get glass baffles cut to fit diy sump? 20 20 DIY Projects 4 10-03-2005 09:45 AM
NEW stand and sump pics brndfrb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 05-14-2004 11:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.