Outdoor Kiddie Pool Pond

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Johnny32561

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi guys I just set up a pool outside for the sole purpose of keeping guppies there. I have never done this before so please tell me the "errors in my ways". So here are the supplies I used

1 Intex 127 gallon kiddie pool

Dechlorinator

Ammonia

Hose Water (is this good? I have heard hoses may have copper but Im not keeping inverts)

Duckweed

Azolla

Plastic sheet for a pool cover?(do i need this?)

Marshmallow Making sticks taped together to hold the plastic sheet up.

Empty soda Box ( to protect electrical appliances.)(also wrapped that in a trash bag)

Surge Protector inside the box (duh)

Established Tank Water (to help cycle)

I squeezed some of that brown fluid from the filter onto the pool

OK that is what I did I will be adding a heater (only when necessary) and an airstone

will be testing water today

Any suggestions?

Waterchange

I am not filtering or pumping atm should I? i am only housing livebearers and MAYBE some shrimp?

Depending on where you live what sre you going to do if it gets cold?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Spare heater

I live in VA but I have a spare heater if it gets cold original ammonia was 4.0 it spiked a bit...

I wanted to do something like that but my problem is the bears and racoons would snack on the fish ,

Since you don't have a filter I'm not sure how cycling with ammonia will help. I'd stop adding ammonia and either do water changes and/or add plants and let them reduce the ammonia already present. Sounds like you will be relying on fast growing surface plants and water changes for maintaining water quality. That should be fine depending on the amount of livestock.
What kind of livebearers are planning on putting in there?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice