Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-26-2011, 06:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Overflow Box Pipework Help?

Ive got a Juwel Vision 450, that I want to add an overflow box to (I know I should have drilled it when it was empty).
The sump is in the far right hand side of the tank, and im just wondering if I put the overflow box at the far side would the flow be okay. I was looking at putting the overflow box in the center of the tank, but on second thoughts it would be better to the far left. Would having a slanted feed pipe make much difference to the flow, and would the overflow still work correctly. I have filled a tap to the pipe before the sump to alter the flow.
It is a 600GPH overflow using 1" pipe.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sump1.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	58202  
__________________

__________________
Wazz72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 06:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
I have since measured the overflow tubing as it looked bigger than 1" even though it had 1" stamped on it. The inside diameter measures 1 1/4"
__________________

__________________
Wazz72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 06:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
I would imagine having it on an angle would not hurt your flow. CPR uses 1" on 800gph overflows.
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 05:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
yep as witch as stated it'll be fine.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
I'm using 1" feed will 1/2" be okay on the return, from an eheim 1060 ?
I have taps on the return and the feed to adjust the flow.
__________________
Wazz72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:53 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
i would say yes. from what i remember when i was looking for pump, they arent really flow monsters. and if its the factory out size then absolutely. you will pressure
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:03 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
I'm not too sure 1/2 will do.you need to check in the pump spec although the outlet may be 1/2" they normally state to upsize the actual pipework.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 04:57 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Right, I set the overflow box up at the weekend, and there are a few problems.
The tank is a Juwel 450, the box is wide enough to go over the edge of the tank and the 3d background, but to get the water in the box I have to put more water in the tank, and the brace bars are sitting a couple of mm under water, which disrupts the flow on the surface. Also if I open the feed tap full it cant suck out enough water, and gurgles as the flow is cut short. If I put even more water in the tank it may solve this. Temporarily I have attached the output from a fluidised filter which is supplying enough water to top it up.
I suppose that the box could do with being an inch lower to solve this. Would putting more water in help?
, Warren.
__________________
Wazz72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 05:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
Overflow box sets the water level in the tank. If you can lower it, do that before you add more water.
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 05:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Its as low as it will go, I did think about altering the depth on the tank side with my trusty dremel. If i put in the comb, it goes crazy and starts glugging.
__________________

__________________
Wazz72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reducing wet dry/ overflow noise? clay16 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-12-2011 01:00 AM
Overflow Sump Flow mrbee2828 DIY Projects 57 09-29-2011 05:51 PM
Overflow & 3D Background mrbee2828 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 08-31-2011 03:35 PM
Height of overflow? HELP HELP!!! Peoplepc3 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-07-2011 11:48 AM
Help! Please show your DIY PVC Overflow francis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-20-2011 01:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.