Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-29-2010, 11:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 26
Patching a Hole in a tank

Hello,

My friend gave me a 2m long tank, and its got a hole, 5cm diameter, drilled at the bottom of the tank at either end.

I'm just wondering if I could silicon a peice of glass over it and would that be enough? the glass is about 1cm thick.

Regards
Daid
__________________

__________________
Daid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 12:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
You would want to match the thickness of the bottom glass if you did that and make sure the piece you are putting over it is on the inside of the tank so the weight of the water holds it in place.

The hole was probably originally for a bulk head if you wanted to put a sump in there. I don't know if this is fresh or salt but a sump can be really handy for both. You may want to consider buying a bulk head and then just putting a PVC end cap in there. That way if you decided to put in a sump later or sell the tank you can easily open up the hole again.
__________________

__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 01:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 493
I agree with Pat8you. Go with the bulkhead + PVC cap route. If you decide you want a sump in the future for a reef or whatever it will be much easier on you. If you patch it now, you'll kick yourself in the future.

If you decide to silicone a piece of glass/acrylic over it though, be sure to also run a bead around the perimeter of the patch. Patch goes on the inside too, so the water pressure will help hold it in place.
__________________
10g - 3 Feeders, 1 Bolivian Ram, 1 Bluegill?
40 Breeder - Eastern Painted
50g Rubbermaid - Mississippi Map
I work at an LFS..
Todd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 01:20 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 26
Cool,

thanks for the replys. I'll try to get some pictures when I get home. Its already got an overflow sump thing, which I'll be using, but its also got another hole on the other side of the overflow.

Cheers
__________________
Daid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 03:04 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Etunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,162
I didnt have a chance to read what the above post said but i had the same problem and i found a solution. Just cap it off with pvc using silicone or liquid cement.
__________________
It is all about the oddballs
~Ian~
Etunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 09:24 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 26
Okay, heres the photos

Click image for larger version

Name:	100730_220939.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	24778 Click image for larger version

Name:	100730_221022.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	24779

I still haven't taken the glue off yet. Hope someone knows what the 2nd hole is for or how to use it
__________________
Daid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:13 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
Typicly the one inside the overflow box is going to be your return line (to the sump) and the one outside will be your pressure line (away from the sump)
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 11:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 26
So.. do i connect a pump in the sump and does the water just gush out from that hole? or would i connect another pipe? sorry. I haven't used this setup before.

I was just thinking of just patching the hole and use the over flow into the sump below and have a spray bar as a return.
__________________
Daid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 01:28 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
No most people will connect a lenth of PVC on the inside of the tank that runs up to around the top of the water level. Then you can use lock line to adjust the flow where you want it in the tank.

For the overflow inside the box most people use a durso stand pipe. It helps adjust your flow and keeps the tank from making so much rushing water noise.

Using the holes to connect to your sump will be much better then an overflow box. They can be a pain to adjust and can cause some problems. If the holes are already drilled i would use them.
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 03:19 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SeverumGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daid View Post
So.. do i connect a pump in the sump and does the water just gush out from that hole? or would i connect another pipe? sorry. I haven't used this setup before.

I was just thinking of just patching the hole and use the over flow into the sump below and have a spray bar as a return.
Try going to your LFS. They're pretty much guarenteed to have something with that setup and be able to show you how to do it. Just take the photo with you if you can.
__________________

__________________
SeverumGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, hole, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black hole in my tank? sudz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 11-19-2006 02:52 AM
How do I utilize this hole in my tank/glass? mnestroy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-11-2006 11:54 PM
Patching crack and holes (pics) SkinnyPete Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 12-18-2005 01:49 AM
30-40 gallon tank or hole setup wanted?Or any ref ready tank Dewey Midwest & the Dakotas 2 03-13-2005 10:12 PM
Drilling a hole in your tank bsheek General Retailers 2 11-04-2003 01:30 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.