Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2011, 12:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Casper, Wy
Posts: 164
I am pretty sure I know the answer but before I tear my piping apart I shouldnt have any metal in the piping for a sw sump should I? And secondly should I put a valve on my piping into the sump for ease of cleaning?
__________________

__________________
<img src="http://www.compwefix.net/public_html/compsi/sig.jpg" width=940 height=148>
Strawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 12:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
No to both! Avoid any metal in your system. Maybe stainless screws on your pumps are OK but that's it. The only valve I would recommend is if your return pump is more than your overflow can handle. Then throttle down the return to match your overflow.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
You mentioned "valve on my piping into the sump for east of cleaning". Do you mean a union, or a valve? I don't see how a ball/gate valve will make it easier to clean the piping. If you mean a union, then I would definitely say yes. Makes taking the pvc pipes out for easy maintenance without having to take out all your pipes at once.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Casper, Wy
Posts: 164
I meant a ball valve so i dont have to break my siphon when tank cleaning.
__________________
<img src="http://www.compwefix.net/public_html/compsi/sig.jpg" width=940 height=148>
Strawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 03:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
the syphon shouldn't break when cleaning the pipework,its no different then a power cut.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 03:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Casper, Wy
Posts: 164
So how do I do water changes? I can not wrap my head around this whole self sustaining syphon.
__________________
<img src="http://www.compwefix.net/public_html/compsi/sig.jpg" width=940 height=148>
Strawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 03:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
I have some pics of sumps in my photo album, they might help.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 04:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
what overflow box are you using?
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 05:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Casper, Wy
Posts: 164
Eshopps 300
__________________
<img src="http://www.compwefix.net/public_html/compsi/sig.jpg" width=940 height=148>
Strawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 06:05 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
you have a box inside the tank and a box on the outside of the tank and a u tube joining the two together.If you set it up over a bucket fill both boxes,put some air hose into the u tube then whilst sucking the air out of the tube keep filling the boxes,once all of the air has been removed from the tube and you stop filling the boxes the water will stay in the tube because of the construction of the seperator in the external box and the grooves in the internal box and the tube opening is below both water levels, the height of the water is exactly the same in both boxes,when water then flows through the grooves and into the internal box(as if you've just turned your pump on)the water level rises and this in turn rises the water in the external box causing the flow through the tube.try this out to help show you the syphon.
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overflow/15g sump: tons of questions! victor.m DIY Projects 5 10-23-2011 11:42 PM
To Sump or Not to Sump - Freshwater MrBeta General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 09-17-2011 02:56 PM
elevating the sump firefishgoby Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-21-2011 02:10 AM
To Sump or not to Sump? wrmiller Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-20-2011 05:02 PM
Sump pump size donh DIY Projects 7 07-21-2011 03:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.