Project fish tank/stand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pau1parker

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello , so i decided to upgrade to a bigger tank , and thought why not make a project out of it ! Im nearly done building the stand all i have to do is build the shelfs , thought id show some pictures :') also is my tank ok to just sit straight onto the mdf sheet ? Iv heard some tanks need to sit on foam? If you know leave a comment , also feel free to leave feedback , will be building the canopy through next week in me spare time :D
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1419116169.759469.jpg new tank
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1419116206.808168.jpg frame and back board done ready to make it look tidy and put doors on !
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1419116248.791475.jpg how it is now ready for shelfs , i quite like it considering its my first build !

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Since I don;t see any frame on the tank, I would most definitely use styro/polystyrene under the tank. Depending on how many gallons will determine how thick it should be. The bigger the tank, the thicker the foam should be.

Hope this helps (y)

Since I don;t see any frame on the tank, I would most definitely use styro/polystyrene under the tank. Depending on how many gallons will determine how thick it should be. The bigger the tank, the thicker the foam should be.

Hope this helps (y)

Thats what i thought , its only a 150 litre tank , how thick should it be and were do i get it ? Cheers