Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-03-2011, 08:46 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Territoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 212
What about dechlorinating the tap water? You can't just pour chlorinated water into your tank without dechlorinating it first, it would kill the fish, wouldn't it?
__________________

__________________
Territoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 11:11 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lady_Alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
I put prime into the tank before filling. I've never had a problem.
__________________

__________________
Lady_Alia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 02:40 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
The Editor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 147
Why not get a RO/DI filter attach it to your water mains, then run the system on continuously?

Admittedly you'd have a tiny rate of flow through the whole system, but you could have clean fresh water constantly trickling in and the soiled tank water constantly trickling out...
__________________
The Editor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 02:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lady_Alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
Because even though I understand the individual words you said, I have no idea what you're talking about! lol
__________________
Lady_Alia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 02:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lady_Alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
Besides, my system works fantastically for me!!!!
__________________
Lady_Alia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 02:46 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
The Editor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 147
Lol fair enough... I tend to get carried away with these grand ideas, I like to over engineer my thoughts!
__________________
The Editor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:03 AM   #17
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 469
pretty much the same as a betta drip sys.
but using tank instea of using contains.
__________________
BlackMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 10:37 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Retired_AF's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 738
I bought one of the kits at the lfs with a 25-foot hose that attaches to a faucet just like the things used to fill water beds. It has the wide tube at the other end to vacuum the gravel with a removable slotted cover to prevent sucking up fry, shrimp or anything else that could get pulled into the tube.

When you turn the water on it creates a siphon and you remove as much water (along with the sediment or other nasties) as you want to replace. When you reach that point, pull the tube from the water and let the siphon empty the hose. To fill the tank you move a piece at the faucet end and the water is directed to the tank. I get my water from a well, so no chlorine issues. I take a half-gallon glass jar and add some water to mix the aquarium salt in, disolve the salt completely and pour it into the tank separately.


__________________
Jim
Why do I love fish? Because every time I stare into the little world I have created for them, every problem I have just floats away....
Retired_AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:04 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
Maybe I wasn't clear in what I'm trying to accomplish, or I'm not following you guys/gals.

I have a RO+DI filter that pumps water continuously into a storage container I have in my garage.

Currently I go in there dunk a bucket then haul it over to my tank.

I want to try to find an easier hose type thing that I can hook my pump to, or get some form of cheap suction pump that will allow me to pull water from that storage bin and fill my refugium.

Any thoughts?
__________________
125 Gallon Reef Aquarium, Live Sand, 150lbs of Live Rock Chaeto in Refugium
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:10 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I just use rio pump and 3/4 inch hosing I got at home depot. I put the pump in the main water storage container and run it to my tank.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pwc, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want to replace my filtering system... Retired_AF General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 09-17-2011 04:23 PM
For Sale: 36" HO T5 4 LAMP AQUARIUM LIGHTING SYSTEM in San Diego Luky Archive 9 09-04-2011 12:41 AM
Setting up a Auto top off system Rscomia General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 08-13-2011 02:50 PM
co2 system for 55g, need advice lamiskool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 07-02-2011 02:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.