Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2011, 08:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Island_Emt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 186
Question about Installing a 3d background

Hi

Searched but couldnt find an answer. Can you install a 3d background in a stocked established tank?
__________________

__________________
Island_Emt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 04:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
I'd say you could, if you take the proper steps. Have it fully cured (ie test it in a bucket/bin for leaching first) and put it in during a major PWC/clean-up.

I'd push the substrate away from the back wall and use it to keep the base wedged in place and a plastic clip of some sort to keep the top in place. I wouldn't try to silicone it in place because the curing would take a while and until it's fully cured, it's dangerous to fish.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 11:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet
I'd say you could, if you take the proper steps. Have it fully cured (ie test it in a bucket/bin for leaching first) and put it in during a major PWC/clean-up.

I'd push the substrate away from the back wall and use it to keep the base wedged in place and a plastic clip of some sort to keep the top in place. I wouldn't try to silicone it in place because the curing would take a while and until it's fully cured, it's dangerous to fish.
What about hot gluing it in place? Just the top half after doing a 50% PWC? then placing a rock in front for extra security and wedge the bottom under sand...

Has anyone tried it yet? I'm about to try it once I receive my background

Thx

Mike
__________________
mikeybabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KreativJustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North East, Indiana
Posts: 216
No no no, if this is done with cement/concrete, then I would never put this in a stocked tank. After it has been cured, I would stick it in another tank, with a filter (a sump would work best), and run the tank with salt water for 2-3 days. Do a full water change, and repeat this step once or twice more. Then empty the tank, put fresh water back into the tank, and circulate it again for 2-3 days and repeat again. Then start using media bags from a previous fish tank and get your cycle going again (of course testing your tank water) before adding the little guys n girls. This could be very harmful to your fish if not done right.

--edit-- don't use hot glue, use GE 1 Silicone
__________________
55gal Beginner FOWLR - 40lb Live Rock, 1 True Percula, 1 Sand Sifting CUC, 1 Scooter Blenny, 1 Sally LF Crab, 2 Turbo Snails, Frag Brain Coral, Tree Coral Frag, Zoanthid Colony
KreativJustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 01:38 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by KreativJustin View Post
No no no, if this is done with cement/concrete, then I would never put this in a stocked tank. After it has been cured, I would stick it in another tank, with a filter (a sump would work best), and run the tank with salt water for 2-3 days. Do a full water change, and repeat this step once or twice more. Then empty the tank, put fresh water back into the tank, and circulate it again for 2-3 days and repeat again. Then start using media bags from a previous fish tank and get your cycle going again (of course testing your tank water) before adding the little guys n girls. This could be very harmful to your fish if not done right.

--edit-- don't use hot glue, use GE 1 Silicone
I thought hot glue was aquarium safe?
__________________
mikeybabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 02:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
I have seen this before. Google 3d backgrounds. If you can't find it, let me know.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 04:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bige View Post
I have seen this before. Google 3d backgrounds. If you can't find it, let me know.
seen what before? not sure what i'm looking for... can you link me? is there instructions to install a 3D background while the tank is setup and running?
__________________
mikeybabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 11:49 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
Well I thought you meant a 3d background that is actually on the outside behind the tank. Basically a shadow box. But I see you mean one the intank structures. Is there water in the tank? If so the silcone will not be able to dry properly and is toxic until dry.
But if you are interested in the other background, I will find it.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bige View Post
Well I thought you meant a 3d background that is actually on the outside behind the tank. Basically a shadow box. But I see you mean one the intank structures. Is there water in the tank? If so the silcone will not be able to dry properly and is toxic until dry.
But if you are interested in the other background, I will find it.
Amazon.com: 3D Background - Stone - 24" x 18": Home & Garden

this is the one im trying to install... it says to use silicone in the description, but since the tank is already setup and running i was wondering if i could just empty the water 50% and dry off the back then apply hot glue to the glass and the background and wedge it under the sand and prop a rock in front of it... will the hot glue dry the background to the glass ok? i really want to avoid taking everything down so i was hoping i could install it somehow without taking it all down...
__________________
mikeybabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 01:03 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
That is cool. When I set up my fw tank, I'm getting one. As far as hot glue, I'm not sure. I'm not sure it holds underwater.
__________________

__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3d background, background, stall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another background question jm667 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-17-2009 06:30 PM
Background Question Sir Ottis Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-25-2008 05:35 PM
Background Question Thaiboxer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 11-15-2005 02:23 PM
3D background question Fehyd DIY Projects 1 12-27-2004 05:18 PM
Yet... Another 3D background question Bioworldmaker DIY Projects 3 07-16-2004 02:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.