Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-23-2004, 02:30 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
I have found a really kick a** sump-based refugium by cpr and boy is it sweet for what is payed for, check it out

http://shop.store.yahoo.com/reeftrop...uafugepro.html

That whole thing is the refugium right?? I didnt know you could keep clowns in there or coral 8O I like it. it comes with everything, the skimmer, the lights, all you need to do is add sand and water and either macro, a few fish maybe?? A clown or two??? Corals??? I dont know much about refugiums but they look very helpful, they are like a quart, but I think they are better
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 02:52 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 852
Send a message via MSN to sumphead
NOT A QT! I thinks that's what you meant by "quart" right? It can't e used as a QT tank as it shares the same water as your tank. You can't medicate in it nor use hypo salinity. Unless you know more about it, like the type of lighting and how effetive the skimmer is I wouldn't recommend it. A sump is supposed to be out of sight hiding your equipment and increasing water capacity. A fuge is to remove DOCs via macro growth exportation and provide an area free of predation for pods and such to replenish your main display by putting fish in it you are adding predation. Yes it can be used as an isolation area in the even you need to separate some fish for some reason but I wouldn't make it thier home. But I guess you could if you really wanted to, but why not just get another tank for that?

So are you not skimming now? You may find with a lighter bio-load some hobbyist aren't skimming at all anymore with the addition of a large enough refugium they export enough DOCs with Macro algea growth and the use of mineral/miracle mud or nutrient rich gunk to replinish trace elements. I realize your setup is rather new and at the moment there probably isn't a lot of DOCs and skimming isn't necissary at the moment.

Do you have an overflow box right now, or do you need one of those too?

R-
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a nickel for every miracle that you easily tricked me into. -Chris Robinson
sumphead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 12:10 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
yea, the fish and coral in that pic for "marketing" The main purpose of the fuge is as sumphead explained, is for sand and macro algaes. Some folks add a brittle star and some snails for some basic clean up in there but I wouldn't recommend fish and deffinetly not corals.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 02:05 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
I have no overflow, I have a seaclone 100 skimmer, a turb twist 3x uv sterilizer, and I own a bio wheel and a canister filter (Penguin 330 bio) (xP3 canister by filstar)
__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 02:10 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
Oh yea, It wouldnt be used as a quarantine LOL
__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 04:05 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would never pay that much for a fuge. I have a 55 gal fuge DIY. Its doing really well, and im going to add some fether calupera soon. All you need is a container, and an overflow box, and a pump with a ball valve on the return and your set
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2004, 04:08 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
lots of folks just use a rubbermaid container even. all depends on what you want to do with it.
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breed, breeder, diy, refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diy skimmer box pinda DIY Projects 3 08-10-2009 07:50 AM
Pregnant Guppy in breeder box Marvelous Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 10 03-29-2009 10:34 PM
floating breeder box ?'s DepotFish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-15-2006 03:38 AM
DIY Poor Mans simple Overflow Box (~$10) Kramer DIY Projects 7 10-06-2006 06:54 PM
Leftover food in the breeder box.... aquanewbie72 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-01-2006 09:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.