Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-08-2012, 05:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cashmoney6980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Central Indiana, USA
Posts: 225
Refugium Idea...Input Please!!

Well since a sump is a no go on my 56 gallon tall saltwater tank, I've been looking into ways to ditch my canister filters... And a refugium seems like a rather good idea! I have a spare 15 gallon tank i am planning on using and will add at least 1, possibly 2 baffles.

Since setting the refugium higher than the DT is out of the picture (the DT stands almost 6 ft high) I was planning on using my cascade 1000 (and buying a 2nd one) and using those to pump the water to and from the DT and refugium. I'll have the inlet of one in the DT pumping to the refugium, and the other inlet in the refugium pumping to the DT. I will remove all the media from them and possibly fill them with filter floss, and maybe some carbon. My other canister (eheim 2034) will most likely remain on the DT and be filled with chemical media (purigen, carbon, chemi-pure etc..)

The reason I was thinking of getting a second cascade is 1.) would be cheaper than buying pumps, and 2.) would be equal flow going in and out of each tank.

I also was thinking of placing a small power head on one end of the refugium aimed at the other end, simply to push the water through.

Now I want to make sure that this will all wOrk before I go onto planning everything that will go into the refugium, lights, and all that good stuff. PLEASE give me any advice anyone has to improve this idea to be more efficient and possibly save me some money and time. So I'm looking for any input possible. This is just a starting point, and still being a slight noob to saltwater, I'm looking for any and all advice I can get!

Thank you in advance !!
__________________

__________________
cashmoney6980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:43 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
What happens if/when one of the canisters accumulates a bunch of gunk and the flow slows down and the other one doesn't? Or worse yet, what happens when one breaks down and the other keeps pumping? In other words, this is not a good idea. You'll end up with a very large mess on the floor and lots of dead stuff in your tank.
__________________

__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Way too much opportunity for failure. Canisters are not designed to be used this way. Why is a sump a no go? Even a hang on overflow would be more reliable than this idea.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
This would NEVER work. There is no possible way you could sync 2 pumps.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xtra51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
This would NEVER work. There is no possible way you could sync 2 pumps.
I would have to disagree on you with this one. You can get a ball valve and control them that way. it is quite hard to do, by not totally impossible. I would personally suggest getting mag drives instead of doing this though.
__________________
xtra51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Try it. It's been tried by many, and none have succeeded. Why do you think they sell HOB overflows? They would be a big waste of money if all you needed was 2 pumps.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xtra51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Try it. It's been tried by many, and none have succeeded. Why do you think they sell HOB overflows? They would be a big waste of money if all you needed was 2 pumps.
The sell HOB overflows because people want a sump but don't want to drill their tanks. HOB overflows have nothing to do with 2 pumps and all of that.
__________________
xtra51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
a canister filter is essentially a sump. A sump is just an extra container of water.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xtra51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
a canister filter is essentially a sump. A sump is just an extra container of water.
This is true, but a sump is mainly to add more water to your system, a canister does not do this very well. Thus me saying it would not be considered a sump. Just a thought
__________________
If the information is good, thank the one giving it
xtra51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
cashmoney6980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Central Indiana, USA
Posts: 225
The reason a sump is out of the picture is because the tank can't be drilled, and ive looked into doin an overflow box, but those seem like too high of a risk chance there of flooding my floors.

Now my next question...Would the best route be just to buy 2 exact pumps? One for the inlet, one for the outlet?

I really like the whole idea and setup of a refugium, and really want to make sure I do this right lol I appreciate any and all ideas!
__________________

__________________
cashmoney6980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Filter please maestromad Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 03-28-2012 10:23 AM
Oscar tank PLEASE HELP!! KRAKEN Cichlid Discussion 49 03-14-2012 04:47 PM
aquaclear filter... replace or clean the filters? please help yankeeslover General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-08-2012 01:36 PM
please help id themartins Saltwater & Reef - Identification 1 03-08-2012 09:18 AM
Please help! What kind of algae is this?? SENSEI Saltwater & Reef - Identification 10 03-08-2012 08:56 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.