resealing a tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

robj6767

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there, I just got my hands on a 75 gallon tank that was in rough shape with the seals. As i have never done this before with a tank, I'm looking for any help on tricks or information on how to do so. My main question is, do I have to seperate the glass and do the complete seal or can I strip off the old inside and then just reseal fromt he inside. The seal across the bottom of the tank seems fine and it is only the edges on the sides that are a bit old. The tank came from an aquarium and was already predrilled on the bottom, but the previous owner sealed that with a plate of glass. I don't have any worries about that leaking as its got a very good seal around it. What I do have a worry about is only resealing the sides. should I just reseal the entire tank or will the silicone adhear to the silicone across the bottom? If so, is a company called xiameter a good place for purchasing silicones online? I've heard good things about them but just wanted to double check.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to AA!

Don't take the tank apart unless you have to. Get all the old silicone off the inside with a razor blade. New silicone will not stick to old silicone. Wipe the glass down with rubbing alcohol and run a new bead of aquarium-safe silicone.

That plate on the bottom would worry me. If it's not as thick as the bottom glass, it's too thin. I'd replace it with a bulkhead and plug.

You do not have to take apart the tank. The silicone holding the glass planes in place acts as an adhesive. The secondary seam inside the tank acts as a sealant.

If the plate of glass covering the hole is on the inside of the tank (as I imagine it would be) rather than the outside and there is a good seal than it should be good to go.