Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2003, 03:03 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 183
Do you guys have an opinion on silicone? Can it be from HD or does it have to be "Aquarium Safe?" As an engineer my thoughts are - 100% silicone is silicone and that's it, no matter what marketing crap you put on the tube. Please share your thoughts.
__________________

__________________
55g Emperor 400, Wet-Dry Pro 30 w/Penguin 660, Ebo-Jager TS 250
- 4 Assorted Angels (Smokey, Marble, Golden)
- 2 Blue Acaras-Aequidens pulcher
- 2 Otocinclus Cats.
- 3 Spotted Corys (Corydoras agassizi)
- 4 Clown Loaches
- 2 Rosy Barbs
captainGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 09:51 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Sealants

Be very careful of sealants with fungacide or other additives as they can be very harmfull to your fish.
__________________

__________________
dean100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 11:20 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 183
I just wanted to put my 2cents worth here guys. I have used GE Kitchen and Bath silicone from HD to create rockwork and caves in my new 55G tank. After doing a lot of research and reading Material Data Sheets I found that that silicone contains some (do not know which) chemical that is a fungicide (algaecide). According to many sources it is toxic to fish. Everyone recommends using GE Window and Door rubber sealant silicone as safe for tanks. Now I have to take apart all the rockwork, clean it up and do it again. I just do not want to take any chances. I read some conflicting stories where fish was dying like there is no tomorrow and other stories where people use mildew-resistant silicones for years with no problems, so go figure.
__________________
55g Emperor 400, Wet-Dry Pro 30 w/Penguin 660, Ebo-Jager TS 250
- 4 Assorted Angels (Smokey, Marble, Golden)
- 2 Blue Acaras-Aequidens pulcher
- 2 Otocinclus Cats.
- 3 Spotted Corys (Corydoras agassizi)
- 4 Clown Loaches
- 2 Rosy Barbs
captainGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 11:52 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Harlow, Essex. UK
Posts: 688
Send a message via ICQ to Terry Send a message via MSN to Terry
Over here in the UK there are a couple of sealants to use for aquariums, there are Dow Corning sealant and a parent company called Geocel, these products are 100% safe for aquarium use.
Any sealant that is used for outside use ie. fixing widows etc has chemicals added.

When it comes to repairing aquariums if it is just a reseal and you are not taking the aquarium apart i think that 24 hours is fine for the sealant to cure. If it is a rebuild then i would let it stand for at least 48 hours before putting any water back into it.
__________________
" There is to much information in this hobby to learn in one lifetime "
But with the help of Aquarium Advice we can
have a good try.
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 11:25 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 329
Ok

I have a seam leak all the way down the corner. The top rim has cracked in that corner. What do you recommend for the rim? Will a slow cure epoxy resin do it or do I need to reinforce the whole rim. This is the second time this tank has sprung a leak. While I am at it shall I recaulk the whole tank at once? I was thinking of getting a new rim of wrapping something around it to secure it. I would rather just epoxy it.
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 08:00 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,257
I'm reading this and thinking if you have a leak you ought to re-seal the entire tank. I'm so paranoid about leaks (though I've never had one) that I'm wondering if we shouldn't re-seal all tanks every so often to be safe. That sounds like a big pain in the *** though :P I want acrylic!
__________________
Holly ~

I love the fishes cause they're so delicious.
Sati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 10:03 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
How big is the tank xander? IF its like a 10 gallon or 20 i would just purchase another new tank. (cheaper than buying some good silicone to reseal). IF its a larger tank i wouldnt recommend resealing the entire tank since the factory seal is far more superior of a job. Is your stand and tank level, this could be a possible reason why your leaking since if its not level it would jar the tank and weaken the seals. HTH
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 11:30 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 329
30

I think its a 30 gallon. 36" 12" 18" approximately. I haven't seen this shape of tank in local shops lately. I figure if I can fix it I will keep it. I want one about this size for feeder fish or a quarantine tank. No its not 100% level. I fear if I remove the bands on top and bottom to re-silicone the whole tank that I will have to replace those as well. Not sure where to get new whatever you call those things on the top and bottom of glass aquariums. I already siliconed the faulty corner and put JB weld on the cracked band. The silicone on the bottom looks healthy but the corners could use a little help. I don't want to pull up the bottom to fix the corners. Shall I just scrape off the old stuff without splitting the seam to get out the old stuff in the contact point? I was thinking of just getting off what I can without taking it all apart and then reapplying the silicone.
__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 12:25 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,257
Re: 30

Quote:
Originally Posted by xander
I think its a 30 gallon. 36" 12" 18" approximately.
That's a weird size. About 34 gallons...
__________________
Holly ~

I love the fishes cause they're so delicious.
Sati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 12:58 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mpls MN
Posts: 329
make that 36" long by 12 1/4" wide by 16 1/2" tall
I have another tank that is the same only 1/4" taller.
I measure from the outside. farthest level point to opposite side.
__________________

__________________
xander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seal, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tank resealing xcugat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-03-2008 02:54 AM
Help with Resealing Tank Please! Macmommy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 08-30-2005 10:46 PM
resealing tank tiredfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-04-2005 05:49 PM
Resealing a Tank fitsforfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 02-22-2004 02:05 AM
When Resealing a Tank is it O.K. too. . . . . . perrymedik DIY Projects 1 01-11-2004 03:33 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.