rocks, stones and pvc piping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JWALK2828

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new to freshwater fish tanks.I just got a 30 gallon tank with just over half a dozen fish about a month ago. i would like to know if i could use a rock or stone found in a river/stream or lake to use in my tank. i dont want to harm my fish so would it be safe? should i boil them or look for rocks with a certain characteristic *smooth not pouris. Also i saw a person on this site use pvc piping as a cave. is the pvc alright in a tank?

really i am trying to find alternatives to buying from a store to fill the small parts of my tank. to make a little less openness. anything DIY or homemade ** that wont kill my fish!. any ideas would be great!!

Durring the summer months does the stream you are planning on gathering deco from have alot of suds, bubbles, foam, soap sud looking things in it near the ripples, current, and stagnant pools? If so I would be leery about using rocks from there. If you do decide to boiling should be a good way to get all pollutants out of the rocks. PVC is okay. Clear tubing seems to be the choice so you can see what is going on inside. However this takes away from the natural look of your aquarium!

actually its more like a fast shallow river. not really grimy. what amount of time in the boiling water would be sufficiant? I'm planning on burrying the pvc elbow in the rocks i gather so im not really worried about the appearance. do you have any DIY sort of ideas to give shelter/cave for my fish?