Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-23-2007, 07:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Smaug21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Posts: 39
Sand Pre-filter?

I've decided to put my frog in my 29g tank thats been empty for a few months here. (after the disaster of putting some soon-to-be-flushed fish into an aparently not cycled tank) ACF's have a habit of eating substrate and i'm tired of the crap that gets in his current to-large-to-eat gravel so i got some sand for the new setup.

I've found a few different sites that have suggested that sand can get into the impeller of a filter and wear it down or break it. Can sand cause that much of a problem? or is it one of those "better safe the sorry" sort of deals? I put this in the DIY section because my idea to fix it is to just attach a simple sponge with zip ties or something similar to the intake of my Eheim Canister filter, something like in the air powered filter down about a page. Is that a good way to keep sand out of the filter?

If this isn't a good plan i'm always up for alternative ideas.
__________________

__________________
-Lady Astor: "Winston, if I were your wife I'd put poison in your coffee."

-Winston Churchill: "Nancy, if I were your husband I'd drink it."
Smaug21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 07:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 150
Send a message via MSN to Gundy
I just did the sponge over the intake for the first couple of months, got tired of washing the sponge and finally just took it off. The sand had settled, even when gravel vac'ing and I haven't had a problem with it wearing on the impeller since then. Actually never even had to clean the impeller.
__________________

__________________
Gundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 07:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
It all depends on how fine the sand you have is, so it is a good precaution to use a sponge at first. After a few gravel vacuuming sessions, you should have most of the finer particles removed from the substrate. Then it might be okay to go without it. I prefer just to use it all the time.
__________________
theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 11:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Smaug21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Posts: 39
Ok seems to be the consensus so far, before i go home for the night, that it's a better safe then sorry, but still should be tried.

I think i'm gonna go with the cheap sponge thing because it's probably cheaper then a sponge from a store like i've been seeing for a few filters, and because it might not be nesecary after a bit.

But i'll check back thursday and see if anybody has other ideas.
__________________
-Lady Astor: "Winston, if I were your wife I'd put poison in your coffee."

-Winston Churchill: "Nancy, if I were your husband I'd drink it."
Smaug21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 06:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to Angel.Zero Send a message via Yahoo to Angel.Zero
I have been using the black sand blasting sand for 2 years now and have yet to have any problems with it effecting my filter or powerhead. Once it settles I think you should be fine and like theotheragentm said a few vac sessions and the finer particals will be gone anyways. good luck to you!
__________________
Angel.Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install pre-filter? Marconis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-04-2007 09:51 PM
Pre filter potsieweber33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-30-2005 10:18 PM
Pre-filter on uptake pipe extremenewb General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 05-02-2005 04:29 AM
Pre-filter for skimmer? two11devan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-19-2004 04:07 PM
how often should I change out my pre-filter? ringwurm Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-20-2004 03:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.