Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-13-2014, 10:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
machotaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 349
Semi automated water changer

I wanted something like the aqueon water changer but
Didn't feel like spending 50$ on one so I made my own.

Shopping list
Hose adapter Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407978067.655301.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	245.3 KB
ID:	246656

Hose of needed length (I have a 50ft)

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407978136.682595.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	236.3 KB
ID:	246657

Hose to faucet adapter

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407978201.811468.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	251.2 KB
ID:	246658

And your siphon

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407978242.298056.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	250.5 KB
ID:	246659

How to build

It's really simple. Just insert your hose adapter into the siphons hosing. That's the only real assembly required.

How to use

Screw the siphon onto the hose

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407978384.083529.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	240.4 KB
ID:	246660

Run your hose down (has to be down this won't work if the sink you are using is above the tank unfortunately) to the sink. Siphon out your water to the desired level. Then to fill remove the aerator and screw on the facet-hose adapter. Then screw on the hose. If the facet leaks rap a cloth around it so it won't spray everywhere. I built this for a total of 24$. Hope you like this, im sure it's been done before but I wanted to share my project with everyone.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
machotaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 09:54 AM   #2
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,542
Nice one
__________________

__________________
Delapool is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 04:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
I built something very similar but I used a waterbed drain/fill attachment on my sink. Solves the problem of the siphon not working if your sink is above tank's water level. I had the waterbed siphon piece on hand but I've seen them on Amazon for about $5.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bakflip3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 09:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 248
I found the waterbed kit at true value for 6 or 7 bucks.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Ryan87500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 09:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
drsfostersmith sell the python brand ones as replacements, as well as the rest of the python parts.
Python No Spill 'N Fill Replacement Parts: Aquarium Siphon Gravel Cleaners
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 11:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 248
I find the python to drain very slow and not enough pressure to clean gravel. But I am using 50 feet so it goes from my tank 30 inches up to the ground about 40 feet and then up about 30 or so inches to the sink.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Ryan87500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 12:57 AM   #7
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan87500 View Post
I find the python to drain very slow and not enough pressure to clean gravel. But I am using 50 feet so it goes from my tank 30 inches up to the ground about 40 feet and then up about 30 or so inches to the sink.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
That probably has more to do with water pressure than anything. I use 100ft hose on mine and it can suck up pea gravel if I'm not careful.

That's my biggest beef with the python, if you suck up any kind of plant material or semi solid gunk, it gets clogged and you have to go fiddle with it.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 08:31 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey View Post
That probably has more to do with water pressure than anything. I use 100ft hose on mine and it can suck up pea gravel if I'm not careful.



That's my biggest beef with the python, if you suck up any kind of plant material or semi solid gunk, it gets clogged and you have to go fiddle with it.

Wow what kind of water pressure do you have. I am using my utility sink I know my house pressure is around 50-60 psi will have to find my gauge to test at my sink.

Wonder if the quick connect adapter has an impact on performance.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Ryan87500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 10:06 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
The quick connect may change it. I'm only using 50 feet of 5/8 inch tubing but once the siphon is underway, I can actually turn the faucet off and my waterbed drain connection actually still sucks water out, although it's slow that way. Only have silk plants, but I've sucked up a couple small leaves but never clogged it completely.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
bakflip3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 02:41 PM   #10
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan87500 View Post
Wow what kind of water pressure do you have. I am using my utility sink I know my house pressure is around 50-60 psi will have to find my gauge to test at my sink.

Wonder if the quick connect adapter has an impact on performance.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Maybe, I had to switch to a 'neverkink' drinking water hose to keep the hoses from collapsing on themselves after a few months. I just use a cheap 'fill and drain' waterbed kit thing from ebay as well. I'd like to find a metal one, the plastic ones break on me about twice a year it seems like. They are cheap to replace at least.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, auto, change, mate, water, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Semi aquatic or semi terrestrial??? Ze_Ubermuffin Freshwater & Brackish - Aquatic Reptiles, Amphibians & Herpetology 10 02-24-2012 05:17 PM
Hate water changes? What about an automated system? phishead DIY Projects 14 04-21-2005 02:51 AM
Is an automated control system possible? Buckeye_ME Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 03-08-2005 11:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.