Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2007, 12:02 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
Simple diy closed loop

I would like to setup a simple closed loop so that i can get rid of my HOB 's. I would like to get my water running from my glass aqaurium into a "sump" where i can put my HOB equipment. I would like a plan for a simple closed loop that can achieve this. I have a 50 gallon tank. I am also not certain how large a "sump" i should use for this type of aquarium.
__________________

__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 12:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
What type of aquarium? More details will help us.

But...a closed loop will not achieve what you are looking for. You want an open ended system with an overflow and a return. Closed loops like this one are used to remove power heads from undrilled systems while still providing flow, and sometimes incorporate a wave maker.
__________________

__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 01:06 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
I agree with Marc. A closed loop is supposed to drain water from a tank into a pump and back up into the tank. Bringing it into the sump is not a true closed loop. It sounds like you into on adding a sump to your system in order to house your equipment. To do this you would need to install an overflow to drain the water into the tank and a return line back up into the tank. If you provide more details of what you're looking to accomplish then maybe we can better help.
__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 09:24 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by chase33
I agree with Marc. A closed loop is supposed to drain water from a tank into a pump and back up into the tank. Bringing it into the sump is not a true closed loop. It sounds like you into on adding a sump to your system in order to house your equipment. To do this you would need to install an overflow to drain the water into the tank and a return line back up into the tank. If you provide more details of what you're looking to accomplish then maybe we can better help.
What you just stated is exactly what I want to do. I want to house my protein skimmer and my hob filter. How can I accomplish draining my tank without drilling a hole into it. Please dont forget I need a simple setup since I am new to this.
__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 11:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sicklid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,050
You are going to have to use an siphon overflow with a "U" tube to get the water out of the tank, and they are not the greatest design. Many people have used them with fantastic results, but others have come home to see 70 gallons of water on their floor and an empty tank due to the nature of this design.
__________________
Sicklid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 12:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
Well to avoid that what i plan is to have 2 internal pumps in the "sump", one will pull water from the tank and the other will pump water into the tank. If the electricity should go off then both should fail.
__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 12:58 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinda
Well to avoid that what i plan is to have 2 internal pumps in the "sump", one will pull water from the tank and the other will pump water into the tank. If the electricity should go off then both should fail.
There is no way that will work. You cannot guarantee that the pumps will function at the same GPM and either the sump or the tank will overflow. The reason it will not work even with identical pumps is that not two pumps are identical, just close enough to normally not matter. On top of that, all pumps are rated for a GPM at a certain TDH, which is the height the water needs to be lifted. A drain is needed, sized so it can drain as fast as the pump returning water from the sump can pump it.
__________________
theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 01:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 265
Quote:
You are going to have to use an siphon overflow with a "U" tube to get the water out of the tank, and they are not the greatest design. Many people have used them with fantastic results, but others have come home to see 70 gallons of water on their floor and an empty tank due to the nature of this design.
I pulled this from another site...I use it on my 55 with an 18 gal sump filter...I tested it for a falure and the siphon restarts every time
http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/fo...ad.php?t=15733
__________________
40gal community - wet/dry/sump -1.8wpg - planted w/Brazilian Sword,Melon Sword,Anacharis,Bannana plant,Crypt,Hornwort,Java moss
Fish - 3 Neons-1 Chocolate Albino Pleco-1 Gold Spot Pleco-2 Lavender Gouramis

55 gal QT/Breeder/Experiment
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=91209
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=95417
redswi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 04:07 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dekalb, IL
Posts: 35
I don't understand how a correctly setup siphon overflow could ever result in water ending up on the floor. The whole idea is that its an "overflow" so if the water in the tank gets too high, it will overflow into the stand pipe and go to the sump. The siphon just carries waterfrom the tank to the container with the standpipe, (or i've seen different pvc joint setups that accomplish the same thing). The only danger that could result in water on the floor would be if the pumps carrying water to the tank shut off and the return line then became a siphon, but that is easily taken care of with a check valve or even just a hole drilled in the return just below the waterline in the tank.
__________________
jdizzle3id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 07:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sicklid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
I don't understand how a correctly setup siphon overflow could ever result in water ending up on the floor.
My point was not all of them are correctly set up. If you don't have the things like the siphon break holes and stuff, they can fail. Read about problems and things here at wetwebmedia:

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/thrhullrat.htm

Redswi, that one is a good design, what I was talking about was poor designs that encounter problems. Sorry guys, I should elaborate more!
__________________

__________________
Sicklid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY closed loop circuit with Calfo-style return manifold ... 20 20 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 10-09-2006 08:42 PM
Closed Loop Manifold? DIY xxnonamexx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 30 08-17-2005 05:29 PM
Maxijet 1200 on DIY closed loop wavemaker brett_mil DIY Projects 6 04-29-2005 11:35 AM
Closed loop on 2.5 penguinsix General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 04-18-2005 03:39 PM
what is a closed loop? guitarded Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-18-2004 11:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.