Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2005, 06:20 PM   #11
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyewiz
Toirtis Its AC300 with Live Sand, piece of live rock and chaeto, inside as refugium. And for the inverts did not deside yet.
Sweet...I thought that intake tube looked a bit thick for an AC10/20/30. I know a few chaps woth similar tanks, all ranging from 2.5g-6g.
__________________

__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 06:49 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 25
The tank is not running yet, the reason is that I'm out of town for couple weeks, as soon as i be back i will start it up
__________________

__________________
hyewiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 07:29 PM   #13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I like the overall look of the tank. Nice work! Welcome to AA!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 12:41 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyewiz
greenmaji Do you think i need protien skimmer?
Do you need one, as in your tank will not do well without one? I doubt it.. Would one help? I think so.. JMHO
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 01:22 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 25
The reason im debating upon is that i don't have enough space in the back and i don't want to make a sump under the stand, any other suggestion?
thanks
__________________
hyewiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 02:42 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
that sort of makes the decision for you then.

If you don't have room for a HOB skimmer, and no sump... I really dont think you'll want to put an "in-sump" skimmer in your tank...

My opinion on skimmers is the same as the maji, apparently. They are helpful but not required. A lightly loaded tank with regular maintenance doesn't have to have one.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2005, 12:23 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 25
I'll see if after i need one i will figure a way with the help of this forum thanks
__________________
hyewiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2005, 09:21 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
if you ever need one you could go with a stand alone model.. a stand alone for that size tank would probibly need to be DIY or at least a modified pre-fab.
And I think as far as needing a skimmer goes depends on how much you want to lean on other filtration types, like your fuge and LR, and how much more maintaince, such as water changes, you want to do. JMO though
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2005, 05:46 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 25
thanks a lot greenmaji for that info, i was thinking 25% water change every 2nd week, and keep only Invertables
__________________
hyewiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 04:40 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
once you get going youll find out how much water will need to be changed by testing.. HTH

No problem :P
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2.5 gallon, hood, pico, stand, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Hood/Stand Ideas Liquid_Pyro DIY Projects 26 04-29-2009 10:03 AM
5.5 gallon pico log, AquaStud's dorm room pico AquaStud Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-09-2009 10:26 AM
55g Tank Stand and Hood Ziggy953 Archive 2 07-08-2008 05:12 PM
55 Tank/Hood/Stand Clean Maryland (MD/VA/DC)[sold] dahacker Archive 4 11-08-2004 10:19 AM
Free 29 gallon stand and hood with PC lights Salt4Us Archive 13 02-03-2004 04:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.