Stand and Hood for 2.5g Pico

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hyewiz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Finnaly just finished the Stand and Hood for 2.5g with 3x 20w 50/50 Coralife and Coralife Moonlght

need your feedback

Inside hood
img_506841_0_9b4421d33606d6a1768be3cc3ad8f0fe.png

Full image
img_506841_1_92edfd6621c642704dd550765b30ac00.png

Moon Light
img_506841_2_58257eb2e3826d559a7457c74d083729.png

Welcome to Aquarium Advice! :mrgreen:

That's a lot of light for such a small tank, but it looks great.

What do you plan on keeping in there?

To be honest with you i donno its my first time in all this.
All i was reading was Light more Light and Light so i started up with the More Light

Very nice, but from what you say thats like 24wpg... i think a lot of people recommend around 3wpg or so for high light... Don't quote me though. Very nice though! Is this going to be a freshwater tank?

just to clarify, 5wgp is considered the highend these days, 3 is medium, and 1-2 is low, believe it or not. however you will hear people running reef tanks on 2 - 40watt shop lights [on a 55gallon tank] following the garf.org mode of operations every once in a while though.

stand and hood look rather nice, i have always wanted a cherry tank setu[p myself, but i always end going with oak for some reason... wish i could figure out why anyways, i really like what you done, but you might want to tone down the lighting just a bit though.

since you had it already built I assumed you already had information on running a nano SW tank. do you have a sump planned? You should.

You know what you should do... post in the SW getting started forum and detail your plans and start fleshing this out. a 2.5 gallon SW tank will be a fair amount of work. JMO.

hyewiz said:
Its going to be a SW tank with Corals and Invertebrates

Welcome to AA!!!