Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2015, 09:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sardis, Ohio
Posts: 119
Starting a CO2 Reactor...

I'm setting up a DIY CO2 reactor for my 55 gallon aquarium because I have taken all my plastic out and have nothing but real plants in it now. Everything I've read and seen on youtube is that I need 4 bottles for my reactor and 1 for my seperator. The big question(s) are what do I put in them. Everybody seems to have a different recipe. I'm planning on 2 cups of sugar, 1 Tbsp of yeast, 1 Tsp of Baking Soda and warm water in each bottle of the reactor. I'll have a glass Diffuser in my tank near the intake of my filter to help disperse the bubbles.
At least that's what I'm guessing on for what I've seen and read so far. I hope that I'll get some good input on the system I'm building. Thanks for taking your time to read this!
__________________

__________________
RRP1501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 07:58 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Feasterville, PA
Posts: 221
I put a similar post up the other day. I want to put Diy co2 in my 55 as well. I would say that your recipe seems a bit off to me. For my 20 gal I use 1/8 tsp yeast, 1/4 baking soda, 2 cups sugar. Now I realize that there is some room for variance in these recipes, but I think you would either just waste yeast or it would eat the sugar too quickly.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
ESeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 09:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Diy on anything more than a 20 gal tank is going to be a crap shoot. Only thing worse than no co2 is constantl fluctuations in co2 levels. You'd be best to get a pressurized system. Now I'm not saying a yeast generator will not work.. just not ideal.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 09:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 1,303
I agree. A 55 gallon should have a constant CO2 source.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, reactor, star, start, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
calcium reactor or kalkwasse reactor PABLO_V Archive 0 03-17-2005 12:23 AM
Ca reactor, kalk reactor, or drip kalk? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-17-2005 12:04 AM
Kalk Reactor Advice "Rephrased Calcium Reactor" cj10488 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-24-2004 01:34 AM
Aqua Medic Membrane Diffuser vs. Reactor 1000 co2 reactor AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-30-2004 01:17 AM
co2 w/pump & reactor or co2 straght in filter? jubei Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-04-2003 09:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.