Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-01-2006, 07:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 147
substrate vacuum

i have a python and a couple of mini-jet powerheads.

can i use the ph to serve as vacuum? will this work? does anyone know how to make this project possible?
__________________

__________________
bapski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 720
the suction of the python should be itself, enough for a "vacuum" - you just push it into and out of the substrate and the detritus should flow up the tube.
__________________

__________________
tbonem91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 07:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 147
for me the suction of python alone is not enough
__________________
bapski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 12:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Posts: 720
is the water level of the tank lower or higher than the output level of the python? The reason I ask is that most if not all gravel vacs are just a syphon - no mechanical or other type of propulsion - the only real requirement is that the output of the syphon be below the water level of the tank and the lower it is, the more suction the syphon creates.

If your sink-driven suction is insufficient or you are "pulling uphill" the best bet might be to use a bucket on the floor and syphon it out for just the vac part of maintenance.
__________________
tbonem91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 07:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 147
i have the output part of the python in the basement where i mix my saltwater.
__________________
bapski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a vacuum lando Aquaria Off-Topic 7 11-29-2005 10:50 PM
Should I vacuum my substrate? ChrisJackie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-25-2004 05:43 PM
another use for vacuum lilismom1 Aquaria Off-Topic 2 12-05-2003 05:05 PM
to vacuum or not to vacuum justin_tyme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 11-17-2003 12:33 PM
to vacuum or not to vacuum? lilismom1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-11-2003 06:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.