Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-05-2005, 05:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal, USA
Posts: 15
Sump\Fuge for my 55, questions...

Start off here is the initial design...



Idea is to have water from the tank to be routed 1/3 to the fuge, and 2/3 stright to the sump. Initial plan was to have a overflowbox like this:

http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewI...dproduct=CR1517

I have posted over at reef central and given ideas...

Can I drill the bottom of a temperd tank? If not, can I drill the back pane? Do I drill myself with a dremel, or take the tank somewhere? If I drill the 55, do I use 1 or 2 overflows? IF I drill, how do I go about making the overflow chamber for the tank?

I have been told, lose the BioBalls and sponges for more live rock and ruble. Ok, what kind of ruble?

The fuge portion of this design will be displayed, I have a stand that is divided in thirds, withthe center section (home of the fuge) with out doors. It should look pretty cool if I build it nice. The Fuge and sump are connected via a bulkhead in the fuge tank that will allow the water to just spill out into the sump.

Also, If I order the glass precut at a shop, how hard is it to build the sump myself?

I thank that is a good start...I am new to salt, this will be my first tank. I think it will be FOWLR.
__________________

__________________
WarDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 05:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cordova, TN
Posts: 172
Send a message via MSN to Verbalkint Send a message via Yahoo to Verbalkint
Well, NO.. You prolly can not drill ANY panel on a tempered tank.

If JUST the bottom if tempered, you MAY be able to drill a side, but unless you know for 100% sure that the sides are not tempered as well, i'd not go anywhere NEAR the tank with a drill.
__________________

__________________
Verbalkint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 05:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal, USA
Posts: 15
The tank is an 55 gallon All Glass Aquarium from Petsmart. Their website indicates that hte bottom is tempered, no metion of the sides. http://www.all-glass.com/services/index.html

Would drilling a side be benefitial, or does it only work when you drill the tops
__________________
WarDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 09:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 483
Quote:
I have been told, lose the BioBalls and sponges for more live rock and ruble. Ok, what kind of ruble?
Just some smaller pieces of LR

Quote:
The tank is an 55 gallon All Glass Aquarium from Petsmart. Their website indicates that hte bottom is tempered, no metion of the sides.
Count on the sides being tempered as well, thats the rule I use when i look at things.

Quote:
Also, If I order the glass precut at a shop, how hard is it to build the sump myself?
Not hard, just be paitent, I am actually making one now.
Quote:
The Fuge and sump are connected via a bulkhead in the fuge tank that will allow the water to just spill out into the sump.
One thing that I have been told in regards to the fuge area, is that you want the water to move fairly slow, in relation to the overflow dump area, and your return pump.

Personally...

I'd skip the drilling all together... when it comes down to it, your tank is roughly 12 inches deep....

once you drill, even if its the back to have any sort of overflow chamber, you will loose @ 5-7 inches due to the overflow compartment.

If you were going to drill, i would look into getting a tank specially ordered with some bulk heads put in there, possibly 2 for the overflow and another a few inches down that you can hook a ball valve to for your waterchanges, would probably do wonders.

HTH
__________________
mykpoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 10:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal, USA
Posts: 15
Would this wourk... putting a spillway, if you will, for the out flow of the fuge could maintain a water level of 11.5 inches or so. Would that be worth the effort? I am trying to build a fuge that will have slow movement, get the benefit of the DSB and possibly keep some sea horses or other such delicate animals in it.

__________________
WarDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuge and Sump Bearfan Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 4 05-16-2005 08:08 AM
Sump or Fuge? Natterjak Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-11-2005 06:05 PM
(My Fuge Questions)What type of lighting for a fuge? mrpope Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 11-04-2004 11:33 PM
sump/fuge? jennymit21 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-26-2004 09:51 PM
Fuge vs. sump vs. both? mojo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-05-2004 11:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.