Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2013, 10:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Sump or FX5?

So I have a 135 I'm going to setup by the end of the summer for my RES and some sunfish and I am currently considering building a sump instead of using my FX5 (sell it). What do you think?
__________________

__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
If you're going to worry about a sump running dry or over flowing while vacationing or business traveling then go with the fx5 to ease the mind. I've never owned one ( fx5) but all I can say is once you go sump IMO you never go back to anything else.


Sumps have my vote over anything else 110%
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
That's what I figured. I was thinking of going dual overflows to combat possible flooding. This way if one breaks down the other can compensate in the meantime.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Could I actually see some pics of your sump(s)?
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
BRS has a video on how to make a failsafe (or more failsafe) sump setup:
Ultra quiet reef tank overflow - YouTube
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
The problem is my tank isn't drilled, I'm not sure if ill have it drilled or just go with overflow boxes. I know drilled is better, how much would it cost to have it drilled?
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Ah, well you need to figure out if the glass is tempered or not. If it is, it can't be drilled, so overflow boxes will be your only option. There are a number of YouTube videos on making "failsafe" boxes.

Re: Drilling cost - it's best to contact a couple of LFS to get quotes. Depending on their cost, it may be cheaper to DIY:
Instructions on drilling holes in glass aquariums - Bulk Reef Supply - YouTube

Installing an internal aquarium overflow and drilling holes in glass aquariums - YouTube
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 04:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
It's an older tank, the glass has a slightly green tint to it. Not sure if that means anything. Built in '85. I was planning on using my current 40B tank as the sump and transferring my planted setup to the 55 my turtle is in.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 12:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
By the way, would a 55 gallon sump be overkill? I have my 40B but I like how it's planted and the deepness of the tank. Also I redid the stand so it's much nicer than my 55 setup.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
Sump all the way! If power goes out I dont have any issues with overflow. Two megaflow on each side & pump at the bottom for the return. If power goes off on mines, the water returns to the sump. Power comes back on water does start flowing till the pump kicks back on. I need a new sump as I spec it out better & want two filter socks as the first stage. Trust me you will be glad you went with a sump

PS 55g for me or anything larger will never be an overkilled! You never if you are gonna get a bigger tank in the future & you are set. If you have the room...go for it cause more water vol is a plus!
__________________

__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.