Sump/Refugium Design - Any Suggestions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RalphP

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm adding a 30-gallon sump/refugium to a 90-gallon SW aquarium. The 90-gallon was set up about three months ago and is my first SW aquarium, so I'm still very new to this. Right now I only have some live rock and a few fish in the tank, but my plan is to develop it into a reef tank.

Here is my design for the sump/refugium:

sumprefugium.jpg

Design Considerations:
1. To prevent accumulation of water in the display tank, the overflow box has to be able to drain water from the display tank faster than the pump can refill it. Maximum water flow through the overflow box, an Eshopps PF-1000, is rated at 1000 gph, and the water is drained through two one-inch pipes. The return flow is powered by an Eheim 1232 universal pump, rated at 900 gph, travelling up five feet from the sump to the display tank through a ¾ inch pipe.
2. Two ⅛-inch holes will be drilled in the return line about an inch below the water line in the display tank. The purpose of the holes is to prevent flooding in the event of a power outage.
3. There is already an Eheim 2229 Wet/Dry canister filter running on the display tank, so I didn’t see the need for additional biological filtering in the sump, such as a wet/dry chamber or a Bioballs platform.
Questions:
1. I wasn’t sure whether to put the protein skimmer before or after the refugium. Any thoughts on that?
2. Does the design look like it will maintain the water levels in the sump and refugium?

The design you have will work, except that I'd swap the skimmer and fuge sections so the skimmer is first. more time for the microbubbles the skimmer will create to get released before the water returns to the DT.