Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-02-2009, 07:51 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Probably going to get some conflicting info on this one. I choose to tap a little off of the drain from the tank to feed the fuge. This way it does not cost anything in the form of flow back to the tank. The fuge then overflows into the rest of the sump to join the water that comes from the tank.
__________________

__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 08:24 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jayinked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 71
Need some help with pluming my sump. Overflow just arrived today. It is a Eshopps rated at 900gph with two drain lines. Guestion is should I use pvc, or a clear flex line 1in. dia.? On the drain line To prvent a flood when power goes out should I use a check valve or just make sure it sucks air before the sump would over flow? Should the overflow lose prime when the return does?
__________________

__________________
Jayinked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 11:28 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jayinked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 71
new overflow box just arrived today. It is an ESHOPPS 900gph. I had a DIY pvc pipe overflow to start, just did'nt like the way it looked. Off to home depot in the morning for some new pvc, bluck heads are bigger.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	overflow box 001.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	19085   Click image for larger version

Name:	overflow box 002.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	19086  

__________________
Jayinked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:25 AM   #24
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Make sure you get a couple Unions on the end of those or cleaning is going to be a hassle in the long run.
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:37 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
asudavew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 365
Does the overflow have a hole in the top with an air hose coming out?
It does not look like the siphon tubes do.

But to keep from losing your siphon... you can shove air hose into each tube until the end of the air hose is at the very top of the siphon tube.
Then attach the other end to a power head(s) or a small pump made for pumping water. ( The pumps cost about about 9 bucks... and I have one on my overflow.) Sure makes starting the siphon easy!

Also.. for the return line.. I have mine going to almost the very bottom of my tank.
At first... when I cut the power to the return pump, a siphon would start(and if I had not been there to turn the power back on.. I would have had 110 gallons of water on the floor.)

So...to prevent a siphon from forming in my return line, I drilled a hole in the return line just below the water line of the aquarium.

Now if the power goes out.. a siphon starts and the water from the tank begins to empty into my sump tank.... BUT when the water level drops below the hole I drilled, air enters the return line and the siphon is killed.

I hope this makes some sort of sense!
__________________
A fish in the hand is worth two in the tank?
or something like that....
Here's my 110 build .. .
asudavew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 05:51 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jayinked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 71
yeah thanks for the help, still need to buy some more fittings and some ball valves for servicing sump. What size pvc would you recommend to use. overflow is rated at 900gph? Would 1in inner dia. work ok or would 3/4 be better?
__________________
Jayinked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:59 PM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
1 inch should be fine also what kind of return pump have you decided on using?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 07:44 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Jayinked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 71
I have'nt pick out the return pump yet. since the sump is 4ft below tank would I need a pump with 900gph at 4ft of head hight or just a pump that is rated at 900 gph?
__________________
Jayinked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 08:35 AM   #29
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
@hh
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 11:12 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
If you want 900 gph at the tank, you will need to find a pump that can produce that flow at the height you are pumping it. Don't forget to add the height of the water in the tank. Even if you plumb the return to the middle of the tank, you still have to figure in the total height of the water since that head pressure acts against the pump.
__________________

__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
125 gallon, setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 125 gal setup using canister filtration. Joester2k3 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-18-2009 03:36 PM
sump setup for 125 gal. Jayinked General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-07-2009 08:21 PM
Would this be OK for a sump setup for a 125 gallon tank? 20 20 DIY Projects 1 07-05-2005 09:11 PM
125 gal (entire setup for sale) JamesR Archive 10 03-26-2005 09:18 PM
Fish Growing, 125 gal setup Mo Betta Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 01-20-2004 10:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.