Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-07-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Reeffirefighter13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Sump tank build

I took everyone's advice and went to all my local fish store and no one drills tanks because of the risk of breaking. I also went to a local glass place and they said they don't drill tanks so I went back to the sump idea and I have pics of the progress. I have had it running in the garage for 6 days now and haven't had one problem so far. The filer chamber still isn't done and I am wait on some parts for the used sump I got from a friend but other than that it seem to work good. So once my over flow I ordered arrives I will move it under my tank into its new home.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1958948658.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	154.9 KB
ID:	93466   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-788034001.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	133.8 KB
ID:	93467  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2536650415.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	124.2 KB
ID:	93468   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2090114633.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	108.2 KB
ID:	93469  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1131164853.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	132.8 KB
ID:	93470  
__________________

__________________
Reeffirefighter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 09:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
It looks good. I'm glad that overflow works for you. Have you tried cutting the power to see how it restarts?
__________________

__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
If I were you I would just order a holesaw bit from glasshouse.com very inexpensive and safer then the u tube system u did.
Drilling is not hard , as long as you keep the bit wet and let the bit do the work without adding alot of pressure it's a breeze
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Reeffirefighter13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
I have cut the power to each one at a time, and all together and both tanks equal out and then once plugged back in goes back working fine. The whole set up only has to last me a year or so till I get a new place and move everything over to a 90 gallon tank.
__________________
Reeffirefighter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, sump, sump tank, tan, tank build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.