Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2010, 05:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: s.cali
Posts: 788
Send a message via Yahoo to harmy4993
sump water level question

how do you figure out how much water will be in your sump. or better yet how do you control the water level in a sump.im trying to to figure out how to do a system with multi containters and wondering how i control the water level.
__________________

__________________
harmy4993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 09:58 AM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Controlling it is pretty easy - you set the water level you want when you initially set up the sump, and then you maintain that same level when you do water changes and top-off.

To figure out how much water in your sump has a couple of factors. the most important one is to make sure you leave enough empty room in your sump so that when you turn off your return pump, there's plenty of room for some drainback from your display tank to be held in the sump. For instance, if your sump is below your display tank, when you turn off the pump, all of the water that's in the lines between the return pump and the outlet, as well as some of the display tank water, is going to drain back down into your sump. Make sure you have enough empty room in the sump to hold all of this.

Another factor is if you're running an in-sump skimmer. Most skimmers have a nominal operating depth, so you'll want to make sure you've set it up so that your skimmer operates properly.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 10:01 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Good advice Neilan. I do the same and have a black line drawn on my refuge so I`ll know where to fill it to.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 04:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
wouldnt you also want to consider the possibility of the overflow getting stopped up? i know its a very rare incident, but if the sump holds more than the tank is capable of handling, if the return pump isnt set up high enough, it can overflow the display tank... right?
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 05:04 PM   #5
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
unless you're willing to keep the water level in your display tank very low, this is just one of those risks you have to take. If you limit the amount of water in your sump during operation very low in order to allow the DT to accommodate a plugged overflow, then you don't really anymore have enough water volume in the sump for it to be beneficial. This is why so many use dual overflows or have multiple drain pipes at varying water levels in a single overflow.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water level wont settle in sump s10469 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 11-01-2008 08:45 AM
water level chiefs101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-01-2006 06:40 PM
water level help me another question added kloppy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 04-28-2004 10:07 AM
Water Level in sump Butters Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 08-02-2003 08:18 AM
Water level wahooburger Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-07-2003 03:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.