Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-18-2010, 09:04 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Sump, will this work before I build it

Hi Guys,

I have recently ordered my tank (being delivered at weekend) but as yes have not ordered the skimmer. I want to try and get a sump going on with the setup but I dont want to drill the tank. Also I am limited for space so wondered if you guys to look over the pic and tell me A if it will work and B if it is or is not a good idea.

Obviously the sump will also contain the heater and LR.

Sorry for the newbie question but im new to saltwater and the learning curve is massive from tropical to saltwalter.

Thanks

Old 08-18-2010, 09:23 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

A. Yes it will work.
B. Your missing a few ideas with a sump. Check this site out, it will give you some ideas on some different routes you can take with sumps. Usually people make baffles and chambers for different things. A lot of times these chambers are designed to replace the elements in your canister filter.

I would get an in-sump skimmer personally. I feel they have less problems then the HOB versions, but its a personal preference. ASM and Octopus skimmers are the best, but not cheap by any standards.

HTH. Let us know if you have any other questions, Welcome to AA!

Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 10:08 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo7 View Post
A. Yes it will work.
B. Your missing a few ideas with a sump. Check this site out, it will give you some ideas on some different routes you can take with sumps. Usually people make baffles and chambers for different things. A lot of times these chambers are designed to replace the elements in your canister filter.