Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-07-2011, 03:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippian stuck in Seattle
Posts: 15
Sump with FX5

I have an acrylic 120g corner bow with built in overflow. I am setting this up for Africans. I have an FX5 and was recently given a sump. I would like to run them both using the existing overflow without drilling additional holes and in a single line.

My idea is to drain into the sump first then to FX5 and back into the tank. The FX5 will pull the water from the sump using its pump. Is this possible? What is the best way to do this?
__________________

__________________
TerenceH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 03:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
slitherbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 2,191
Is the canister filter and pump going to be at the same level? I would not recommend this because you cannot regulate the flow of the canister to the tank, which makes it extremely difficult matching the overflow gph with the canister gph.
__________________

__________________
Lalala
slitherbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippian stuck in Seattle
Posts: 15
Canister and sump at the same level. Was not planning on using additional pump for the sump. Only wanted to use the pump from FX5.

Are you saying that the water would drain into the sump faster than it could be pump through FX5 and back into tank?
__________________
TerenceH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 01:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Canister filters work off gravity, just like overflows do. The pump only pumps water back up. For a sump, you need a pump, a canister filter won't work
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 03:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippian stuck in Seattle
Posts: 15
Ok... how do I make them both work without having to drill additional holes in my tank.
__________________
TerenceH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fx5, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55 gallon sump help! johnnyboy1219 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 08-02-2011 05:21 PM
Sump design, please help Paulm87 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 07-29-2011 07:40 PM
Sump pump size donh DIY Projects 7 07-21-2011 03:00 PM
Sump Question FIIISSSHHH Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 07-12-2011 06:33 PM
Setting up a 75 gallon - need sump plumbing help :) catmel Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-06-2011 05:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.