Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2011, 01:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Co. Durham, UK
Posts: 142
swapping and cycling tips

Hiya guys n gals,

Iv got the oppertunity to buy a 100 us gallon aquarium and iv currently got a 30G but I don't hav space to cycle the 100G while the 30g is still up and running. My filter in the 30g is suitable for the 100g (good salesman ship in my LFS "u can't over filter" more like the price on the big filter suits u better) so... Can I do a straight swap from my 30G into the 100g with the filter, plants, ornaments, gravel, water etc so I wouldn't hav to cycle the 100g obviously the new tank taking the good bacteria from the old tank???

Cheers peeps
__________________

__________________
El_diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 10:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
You may see a mini-cycle, but if you don't add any more fish, you shouldn't have too many issues. I am seriously doubting that any filter that doesn't turn a 30g into a vortex would be suitable for a 100g.
__________________

__________________
ďA man's errors are his portals of discovery.Ē
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 10:56 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJim
You may see a mini-cycle, but if you don't add any more fish, you shouldn't have too many issues. I am seriously doubting that any filter that doesn't turn a 30g into a vortex would be suitable for a 100g.
I agree. If your thirty isn't a torrent I highly doubt that the filter can work for a hundred. I would get some water in the hundred, dechlorinate it, add the filter cartridge or some of the gravel from the other tank and wait it out...also you're probably gonna need a bigger filter for that hundred...
__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, swap, tips

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping fish Lowryder Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-31-2010 09:15 PM
Swapping stand out: This the way to do it? CEverii Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 05-25-2010 03:25 PM
Swapping filters while cycling Etunes Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 09-20-2009 01:59 AM
cycling by filter media swapping fergie615 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 09-04-2004 10:30 AM
Swapping out substrate kwan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 07-13-2004 01:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.