Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-15-2010, 01:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dezso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 250
Test tube-rocker/shaker

Yesterday was searching all over the web for replacement vials, cant find any decent price, specially the ones with ml marking are expensive.
On one of the page I found a commercial/medical tube mixer/shaker.

This morning I set up to make my version of it :p
10 hr later, 2 failed prototype, 2 more broken vials, 1 broken drill bit, some band-aide on my finger I have a working model.
Its not finished YET, but this one works.

The motor underneath is from a old video game controller, the motor RPM and direction change ~randomly in every 200 ms to 800ms, a single drop of calcium test will mix instantly. in my previous version the glue did not hold to long so this one is JBwelded.
The whole unit is sit on 4 rubber hose.
I'll try to make some video in the next few days, unfortunately have to work on this weekend.





__________________

__________________
dezso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 03:10 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mitchell0605's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wollongong Australia
Posts: 2,757
Cool.
__________________

__________________
~ Mitch

Follow my 6G Pico build!
Mitchell0605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 04:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Etunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,162
Well this is cool, BUT what is the point of shaking the test tubes as you could shake them manually. I mean is it is just for fun and good job but i was just curious.
__________________
It is all about the oddballs
~Ian~
Etunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:27 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Cool little project. I too wonder why when mixing is usually only for 10 - 30 seconds.

As for marked vials, forget about them. The markings are generally not accurate. Get yourself a 5ml syringe at the pharmacy and fill the vials using that.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 08:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dezso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 250
For calcium, magnesium, alkalinity test I have to dose it by drop by drop, this way don't need to shake it by hand. Call me lazy
__________________
dezso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 10:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I can see where this would come in handy... I think it would be of better use if you somehow figured out how to mount the #2 nitrate test solution bottle... shaking that is usually a pain!
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 04:10 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dezso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 250
Just have to drill a bigger hole for the bottle.
__________________
dezso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 02:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 478
Along the same lines, I was debating making a robotic arm to do all of my testing for me :p
__________________
corrado33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 07:11 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dezso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 250
Asimo can conduct an orchestra, I'm sure he could do your testing for $1000000/month


__________________
dezso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 08:00 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mitchell0605's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wollongong Australia
Posts: 2,757
__________________

__________________
~ Mitch

Follow my 6G Pico build!
Mitchell0605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rock, test, test tube, tube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broke a test tube Aquarium1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 09-28-2009 04:51 PM
test tube anyone????????? tropicfishman Archive 7 05-14-2007 11:58 AM
Test tube caps, do they burn you up also? fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 03-29-2006 01:50 PM
Test tube zebra TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-03-2005 11:17 PM
Test tube Babies? BASSNMAN Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 09-26-2004 11:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.