thinking of building a fish tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SpellEcho

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys I'm thinking about building a fish tank but not quite sure where to start I definitely want to make it out of glass and I want a big one I was thinking 6ft by 2.5 ft by 3ft which would hold about 280 gallons of water. I've been keeping fish for about 6 months and I just want something more. I've read about sumps and over flow but I'm not quiet sure what that means even though I've seen pictures it's just still not clear to me. Do I need that for a tank that big? Any advice would be great thanks guys!

What is the tank for? Fresh or saltwater?

A sump is basically another tank or other vessel that holds water, where you can add pre-filter media to remove large solids before pumping to the main filter, or a multi stage filter system where the water is filtered before being pumped back to the tank. An overflow allows water to exit the tank at a set level before flowing via gravity to the sump below.

It all depends what type of filtration you want to go for. A large sump is good if you have room, as it gives you maximum volume and surface area for very efficient filtration and may work out less expensive than using multiple electrically powered canister and / or internal power filters. It may also be more easily maintained as it is more accessible. A large sump hidden in a cabinet below the tank could house the heater/s too, so no need for those in the main tank.

Just imagine - a plastic or fibreglass sump of the same volume as the tank means twice the water volume for your fish (minus the volume of filter media of course). You could have a 280 gallon tank with a possible 500 gallon water capacity..... as long as you can hide the sump in your living space :D.... plus, just one pump!