Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-13-2011, 05:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Question Two coats of silicone??

i just resealed my 33 gallon and i was wondering if i can put another coat of silicone on top ????
__________________

__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
You could, but I don't think its going to do much for you since silicone doesn't adhere to itself very well. Just put a nice thick consistent bead on all your seams and you won't need to worry.. just leak test before setting it up of course.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
ok kool i put a good bead all the way around iam just second guessing myself lol
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 05:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
I was curious about this, as doesn't acetone (which silicone releases as it cures) damage silicone? So wouldn't a second layer damage the first?
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 10:44 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Silicone releases acetic acid , hence the vinegar smell. I believe that silicone will stick to fresh silicone, but there is no need to have a large fillet for an in tank seam.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
silicone

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
silicone seal well on silicone? JOMA DIY Projects 7 09-16-2010 09:12 PM
silicone ???? batfire General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-25-2006 12:40 AM
silicone nodoubt471 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-21-2005 10:16 AM
Right Silicone? JohnNLuc Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-23-2005 05:40 PM
Is GE Silicone I (100% silicone) OK for use in tanks? targaboy78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-15-2002 07:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.