Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-03-2006, 01:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 705
Two tanks, one filter?

Hi, the idea of sumps confuses me: can a sump be used to run two tanks off one filter? I'm talking FW setups here, rather than SW.

Basically my problem is this: I have a new 30G and a new 20G, and I'd like to run both of them off one filter setup. Is this possible?
__________________

__________________
coldmachineUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 01:35 PM   #2
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Possible, but complicated, inadvisable (a common filter means that any disease introduced to one tank will affect both tanks within minutes), and likely just as expensive as having two filters.
__________________

__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 11:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
I have two rubbermaid growout tubs bridged together with PVC pipe and filtered together.
__________________
MY AQUARIUMS
mvigor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible for a canister filter to clean TWO tanks? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 03-30-2008 09:20 PM
Whats the right filter for the tanks NJGourami General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 11-13-2007 03:44 PM
Cannister filter and planted tanks... Lonewolfblue Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 23 01-03-2006 11:14 PM
Do you use the same filter on all tanks? Lonewolfblue Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 11-30-2005 03:07 AM
Filter and 'SW' tanks Somethingfishy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-21-2002 05:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.