Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-27-2013, 11:29 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Under substrate jets input please

Anyone have experience with the maxi jet 1200 & a setup similar to mine? 4 jets for circulation. My questions are about the sizes of all the pipes / hoses & connectors. I used 1/4 in PVC & some 1/4 inch hose to attach to the pump. Need any help as far as back pressure & effectiveness of the 4 jets on a closed loop system. The pump connection is a size smaller than 1/4 inch to a tee connector that then opens up to 1/4 tube to 1/4 inch PVC. Will that improve flow or hinder flow with the increasing pipe size from pump.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	251.5 KB
ID:	213757  
__________________

__________________
Thisisalexcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:29 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Disappointed not a single person has experienced input
__________________

__________________
Thisisalexcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:35 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Those systems are a relic in fishkeeping from a long time ago. It's not surprising that people don't really have any input on it.

Just looking at your setup I would switch the 90 degree elbows with 45 degree ones. They will give you better circulation throughout the tank rather than just at the bottom.

As for the effectiveness of the pump... *shrug* you will just have to see how it performs once it's in the tank. I would suggest a lengthy test run before putting substrate in
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:39 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Ya under gravel filters are garbage & from the 90's but I'm near certain there isn't any other way to keep debris from settling on the sand other than a under substrate jet system...unless they invented another DIY way to do the same thing please attach a link so I can check it out
__________________
Thisisalexcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Is this for a freshwater or salt water tank?

In salt water the flow can be increased enough to keep debris from settling on the substrate. It's a little more difficult in fresh though.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:54 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
It's a freshwater cichlid tank. Rather then multiple pumps bulking up in a 55g. I want to get the jet system in place with correct pressure flowing so an and all debris on every square inch of the substrate is thrust up into 1 of 3 filters rather than having to worry about removing all my rock and vaccuuming frequently
__________________
Thisisalexcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:59 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I have 2 HOB filters on my very heavily stocked cichlid tank and combining those with my rock placement there isn't a single speck of debris on the sand and I haven't vacuumed the sand or rocks in months.

I have two separate rock piles with my HOB filters setting right over them. The water flows in front of the rocks pushing all the detritus to the back where it gets sucked up by the filters.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 09:02 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 24
Maybe I'll try that out & see how it goes with just using the powerhead for circulation rather that a pump.
__________________
Thisisalexcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 02:09 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 179
Thats cool. Are you fully covering those outlets with sand?

Would have been nice to setup my small fish tank like this. My current fish poops bricks. I need a roving cleaner like you can get for pools scaled down.
__________________

__________________
obedey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.