Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-12-2009, 01:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 28
upgrading python???

ok i have little DIY skills but how hard would it be to use dishwasher tubing. to make a fitting for my sink?? so i don't have to carry buckets any more
__________________

__________________
fishnewbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 03:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
you can buy the actual valve, something like this, then all you need is the tubing which you can get at most hardware stores. that would be the easiest way to do it
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 04:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
or get even cheaper something like this.
11802 Fill and Drain Kit

might even be able to find at walmart or somewhere local. then you swing by lowes home depot pick up the hose and adapter and you are set.

the only other question you will have is do you want to attach a gravel vac to the other end or not.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 28
thanx for the help guys
__________________
fishnewbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 01:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
sumpnfishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 140
The one thing to watch out for with a diy setup is making sure the hose is sturdy. I tried a garden hose and found it collapsed in vacuum mode. It needs to be a thick walled hose to work best.
__________________
The Fishroom project
sumpnfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 05:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
thetonyage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northeastern PA
Posts: 87
can i use the same python for my FW and SW tanks?
__________________
thetonyage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 05:14 PM   #7
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516 View Post
you can buy the actual valve, something like this, then all you need is the tubing which you can get at most hardware stores. that would be the easiest way to do it
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
or get even cheaper something like this.
11802 Fill and Drain Kit

might even be able to find at walmart or somewhere local. then you swing by lowes home depot pick up the hose and adapter and you are set.

the only other question you will have is do you want to attach a gravel vac to the other end or not.
Good advice up there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumpnfishy View Post
The one thing to watch out for with a diy setup is making sure the hose is sturdy. I tried a garden hose and found it collapsed in vacuum mode. It needs to be a thick walled hose to work best.
Careful of using garden hose. Some may be treated with anti-mildew agents.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetonyage View Post
can i use the same python for my FW and SW tanks?
Yep. Just flush it out after.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
just to add to what HN1 said about flushing them out... just for precaution, i run HOT water through mine before using each time. That way if there was something in another tank the hot water should help remove it and it also makes the hose alot easier to maneuver around...
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python, upgrading

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from a 25 to a 55 FastFly67 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 04-09-2009 12:50 AM
Upgrading again!! rive1404 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-09-2008 11:49 PM
upgrading from 55 to 75 bapieniazek Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 08-03-2008 07:12 PM
Upgrading from PC to MH JonSolo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-01-2004 04:50 PM
Upgrading... Terryz_ Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-30-2003 02:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.