Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2004, 11:22 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 361
Send a message via ICQ to JProx Send a message via AIM to JProx
jigs are systems people build from scrape wood (most of the time) to make cutting wood, esp. long planks or plywood easier and faster. using a jig takes alot of the guess work out, and promotes straight accurate cuts.

this link will help, http://www.popularwoodworking.com/fe...ea.asp?id=1104 if you pick up any woodworking, or cabinet making books you will see all sorts of jigs in use and sometimes plans to make the most useful ones. at the bare essentials a jig will have a saw guide, and a method of securing the wood.

that's pretty much a simple explaination of jigs, i am sure jim has more to say on the subject. if you want get your feet wet before buying any wood, visit your local library and look for books on woodworking and cabinetmaking you will find a bunch of advice, and probably a few plans on jig building.
__________________

__________________
JProx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 11:44 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 361
Send a message via ICQ to JProx Send a message via AIM to JProx
oh yeah Thai, we deserve some updates!
__________________

__________________
JProx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 12:24 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Evansville, IN USA
Posts: 3
Thai

Any new pics to share?
__________________
If money doesn't grow on trees then why do banks have branches?
BoilermakerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 12:51 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to Thaiboxer
Wow! Holy weekend response! I go to Vegas for a few days, and all of a sudden everybody is reading my posts!

Yaksplat - I paid $40 for two custom oak doors, 25" high and each about 14" wide. The cheapest I found retais was $40 each, but luckily I have a connection in the cabinet making industry. That saved me 50%. Had that guy not come through, I would've bought a router and made my own. You're right on the tools... and I don't have that many great tools. Yet. I'm getting there.

Jprox - I haven't designed the sump yet. I'm in a debate now... I've got space to work with in the stand, but may just buy another filter. I've got a Magnum 350 and an Emperor 400 now, which is good for the size of my fish today. I could get a Fluval 404 or another Magnum... it'd cost $30 more than a sump, but save me a load of time.

Sati - Get a miter box instead of a circular saw. It's $100, and you'll be very greatful I think... it can't make the long cuts, but most of what you'll do will be 2x4 and trim. Borrow or use a friend's table saw for your skins... circular saws are messy. (I wrote this before I read everyone elses comments.)

reefnewb - Thanks for the idea! A bar with an aquarium in it... why haven't I thought of that? another project to start...

Thanks everyone for your comments! I'll be getting the doors this week, so I should have completely finished pics with the tank on it by the weekend. I'll probably do a write up on my web site at some point... and add comments on what I've found NOT to do as well.
__________________
Thaiboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 11:27 AM   #45
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to Thaiboxer
I leak-tested the tank last night on top of the new stand in my basement.

Good News: The stand is super-sturdy, no issues at all. The new silicone seal is also perfect - this thing is like a rock!

Bad News: While the tank isn't leaking at all, the sink drain is! I had water all over my floor from my sink, but none from my tank. How crazy is that! My aquarium is sturdier than my house! I fixed the sink, cursing all the while...

Tonight I drain it, tomorrow move it upstairs and fill it halfway. Saturday I think will be the great transfer from the 55 to the 125... unless I get antsy and do it all tomorrow night.
__________________
Thaiboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 02:07 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 361
Send a message via ICQ to JProx Send a message via AIM to JProx
thai, i can hardly wait to see this monster come to life but are you planning on adding the fish too, tomarrow night or saturday or are you just going to add all the plants, filters and rocks ?
__________________
JProx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 11:21 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to Thaiboxer
The Plan

I'm planning the monster move, but a lot will depend on how much time things take. Here's the plan:

1. Move the new tank and stand upstairs, dump in the extra substrate I bought and perhaps lanscape a corner of the tank.

2. Fill it about 1/3 with water, dechlorinate and heat. (I can bail at this point if it's not going to get done tonight. If I continue, there's no aborting after this point.)

3. Move most of the 55 gallon population to my 15 gallon. I'm planning to leave the oscar and the dempsey in the 55. They're tough and they don't like to be moved.

4. Move rocks, gravel, decor and some water from the 55 to the 125. As the 55 clears out and the 125 fills I'm going to verify temperature in the 125, then move the oscar and dempsey over. They'll hide while I finish.

5. Move the filtration from the 55 to the 125 immediately after or during step #4.

6. Finish moving rock, etc from the 55 to the 125 until the 55 is empty. 55 is empty at this point.

7. Check the temp, in the 125. Move decorations so they're how I want them. Slowly top it off and maintain temp. If all is well, move fish from the 15 into the big tank.

8. Pray the stress doesn't kill anything. I'm very nervous about this.

Whew! That's a lot of work!
__________________
Thaiboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 02:20 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 361
Send a message via ICQ to JProx Send a message via AIM to JProx
thai that's a good plan, i just have 1 last question. how many fish are going in the 15? the demsy and oscar should take the move pretty well, i wouldn't be to worried about them.

my exp on tank switching is pretty limited, i have done only 1 big tank switch going from a 30 to 55 gal, i just moved all the decor, and 1/2 the filters to the 55, and then let the 55 run for 48hrs then moved the fish over. i didn't lose a single fish in the transfer and everything went pretty smoothly.
__________________
JProx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 02:33 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to Thaiboxer
Hmm... right now the 55 (overstocked, I know...) has:

1 Pleco, around 4" long
1 Oscar, 7"
1 Jack Dempsey, 2-3"
1 Black Convict, 1.5"
1 Red Tailed Shark, 3"
1 Jewel Cichlid, 1.5"
1 Pink Kisser Gourami, 2"

additionally, there is a 1" Oscar cycling the 15 gallon. He gets along with the big Oscar too, and will go in the big tank when the move is done.

Everyone should be in the 15 for < 2 hours. What do you think?
__________________
Thaiboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 03:27 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 361
Send a message via ICQ to JProx Send a message via AIM to JProx
well for starters your 55 is understocked, i use the 1gal = 1 inch of fish rule, for freshwater.. and you have about 23inches of fish (on the larger end) so about 23gallons of water is needed.

anyways.. the 15 would be slightly understocked if you left out the oscar and dempsey. (which you planned on doing anyway) with out them you would have about 13inches of fish needing 13gallons of water. so i believe the fish can stand to be the 15for a few hours. you just might not want to leave them in there for longer than 8hrs, since you are still cycling the tank. the extra amount of ammon. will really over tax the system. all in all the plans sounds great, and it has my gold seal of approval.. (for what it worth)

and just wait till that plecto gets bigger ( 8inches - 1ft).. he will look badass in a 125 gal tank.

side question : what were you thinking of doing with the old 55 ?
__________________

__________________
JProx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
125 gallon, 25 gallon, 5 gallon, diy, hood, stand, sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my DIY 125 gallon stand UPDATED 1/1/07 NOW WITH CANOPY !!! 875mill DIY Projects 31 01-23-2007 11:40 AM
Would this be OK for a sump setup for a 125 gallon tank? 20 20 DIY Projects 1 07-05-2005 09:11 PM
30 Gallon w/ stand+Skimmer+glass hood, light & etc. for gzejer Midwest & the Dakotas 4 03-31-2004 10:13 AM
Free 29 gallon stand and hood with PC lights Salt4Us Archive 13 02-03-2004 04:02 AM
29 gallon stand, hood, pc lights, fuge for sale Salt4Us Archive 13 01-06-2004 07:11 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.