Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-08-2005, 12:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
Using Bulkheads as overflow?

I want to use three 1 inch bulkheads to let the water flow down to my sump/fuge and two 1 inch bulkheads to flow the water back into the tank with a 4 way to make water flow pass the bulkheads so it will not suck up food and towards the front to make a good water flow.
The tank is a 90 gallon long.
What do you think?
Should i do 3 intake and 2 return or 3 return and 2 intake?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bulkheads_194.jpg (30.6 KB, 105 views)
__________________

__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 12:38 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
the ones with the arrows are the returns with the 4 way thats how the water will come out. the ones with the x over it represents the intakes with the screens. lol
__________________

__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 02:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 320
you will need more flow area for the water going to the sump. so, 3 intakes, and 2 returns is the better option.

also, you will need to look at how you will stop the flow of water if a power outage occurs. i would say that your intakes need a 90 degree elbow (or something) to turn them upwards. that way, there is a defined surface under which no water can flow out the intake if the power goes out. in addition, the return lines also need something to bring the return water over the normal surface level of the tank, and then turn downward under the surface... then you can use your 4 way to distribute the flow. you will need to drill a hole in the return piping that is submerged in the tank. place the hole just below the normal water level.

i know it sounds like rambling... but you dont want to overflow if you lose power.

~mike
__________________
55gal FOWLR,
DIY stand and Hood,
AquaC Remora,
Coralife Lunar Aqualight (4x65W),
60 LB Hirocks Base Rock, 40 LB LR 50/50 Keys/Gulf
150 LB Playsand (~3-4 in DSB)
2 x Blood Red Fire Shrimp, 2 x Cleaner Shrimp
2 x Black and White Percula Clown, 1 x Orange Spotted Blenny, 1 x Red Stripe High Fin Goby
mp3z24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 06:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
Sweet! Thanks mike.
whats the best drill bit to use on acrylic?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 09:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
I would build a interior overflow box all the way across the back if I had it drilled up top (best way to get the surfase water out of there to get skimmed IMHO)
Ive seen it called a calfo overflow before.. :P
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 02:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
All the way across the top?!?!? You got a link for that?
TIA
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 02:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 320
i would agree on the idea for an internal overflow box. probably the best option for skimming the tank water into the sump.

as for the drill bit, i know that there are special drill bits for plexi/acrylic/etc, but i think you can also take a standard drill bit and modify the tip to make it work on plastic. there was a post up here somewhere....

some outside reseach led me to this...
http://www.bertram31.com/proj/tips/drill_acrylic.htm

this was the one i was thinking of...
http://www.hawkfish.org/snailman/acrdrill.htm

~mike
__________________
55gal FOWLR,
DIY stand and Hood,
AquaC Remora,
Coralife Lunar Aqualight (4x65W),
60 LB Hirocks Base Rock, 40 LB LR 50/50 Keys/Gulf
150 LB Playsand (~3-4 in DSB)
2 x Blood Red Fire Shrimp, 2 x Cleaner Shrimp
2 x Black and White Percula Clown, 1 x Orange Spotted Blenny, 1 x Red Stripe High Fin Goby
mp3z24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 02:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
A overflow box would be more effective?
Whats the reason for that?
I figured 3 bulkheads taking in surface water would be enough.
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 04:34 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
protein floats. the most concentrated water is the surface water.. the wider the intake of that water the more effective your skimmer will be.. Ill see if I cant find a link to another site that has one of these things built.. Ive seen them :P
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 04:42 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
this is the only place ive seen pictures of this project.. RC.. but.. Ill add a couple of the pictures here.. (you have to be a member of RC to see the pics..)
http://reefcentral.com/forums/showth...hreadid=473152

it is posible to go all the way across the tank with it.. you would have to go with a lower water level.. teeth are not required either its called a weir when the teeth are absent..
you can go just below your center brace with the top of the overflow is what Im saying.. and the only part of the overflow box that needs to be that big is the parts that go over the bulkheads you can make the rest of it more shallow... HTH
Attached Images
File Type: jpg calfoverflow1.jpg (44.6 KB, 77 views)
File Type: jpg calfoverflow.jpg (46.8 KB, 64 views)
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bulkheads Todd General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 04-19-2005 11:26 PM
drilling bulkheads pool_dude Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-23-2005 12:27 PM
bulkheads and pvc 24 hours? NE! Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-03-2004 01:58 PM
Need bulkheads and quarantine advice. dansemacabre Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 04-22-2004 07:42 PM
got bulkheads? justDIY DIY Projects 7 08-13-2003 12:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.