Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 03-03-2011, 06:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
Wall Mounted Reef Tank

I'm planning to build a reef in a picture frame. The tank itself will be acrylic for light weight. I'm thinking 24 x 15 x 5 ish. That'd be about 7+ gal. For filtration I'm thinking a nano protein skimmer and an under-gravel system all hidden by the frame. Lava sand substrate would be light weight, and porous for water flow to the filter. It will be roughly about 70 lbs with water and equipment. A TV wall mount could be use to attach it to the wall. I'm still trying to come up with a light weight background that I could stick critters to. Taking all suggestions.

I should also mention I'm new to salt water. Fresh water with a similar design would be much lighter and cheaper.

IchthyChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 10:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
thatd be cool looking, idk anything technical but keep this thread updated, it would be cool to see how it works out!

Brought to you by Joey's brain.
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:53 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
You want to do an under gravel filter in it?
Badfishofbabylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:26 AM   #4
I have worked with multiple wall mounted tanks and they bare all a PITA. They are annoying at best to work with. There is no room for stockings you to do anything, etc. A better idea than product.
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 08:52 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
You really can't keep fish in a tank that's only 5" wide and trying to work on a tank with those dimensions will be very difficult.