Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-27-2004, 09:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MI.
Posts: 190
Wants a closed loop

When I setup my 120gal I didnt drill for a CL, currently I use a couple of Rio ph's for circulation. I want to get as many of the ph's out of the tank as I can. I know I cant drill the back of the tank now but I seen something in another forum where they drilled the tops of the acrylic aquarium and ran the CL over the top. Has anyone besides him try this before? My plan would be to run an outlet at all 4 corners and one in the middle. Would there be any advantages/disadvantages to running it this way? Let me know if you would do it this way, what equipment you would use, how you would spice it up to work better, cause if I do this I only want to do it once.

Heres a pic of his.

Thanks,
Rich
__________________

__________________
acid_burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 09:44 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
The returns is not the biggest issue with the closed loop but the supply line going to the pump would be. A close loop has the supply line going directly into the pump and the return comming directly out of the pump. Thus an entierly closed water circulation system. If you dont have the supply via a bulkhead below the water line then you will need to setup some kind of syphon and you would need to make sure it was free of air as air collecting in the close loop will end up causing microbubbles to be injected into the tank.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 11:08 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
this is similar to what i've done with my 55 gallon. I have a single mag 5 pump that draws water through a PVC pipe that goes up over the back of the tank, down to the pump, then up to a T that splits the return to two outlets that hang just over the back of the tank. I do occasionaly (but rarely, maybe once or twice a day) get bursts of micro bubbles, but they don't really hang around very long. I'm pretty happy with the set up but I would deffintely suggest making sure the PVC is well sealed and also suggest putting a pre-filter sponge over the PVC intake. I used the one that came with the mag-5 pump I purchased.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MI.
Posts: 190
My plan was to draw water from over the top with a pvc pipe running down the back(inside) of my tank and drill it full of holes to draw the water in. If I painted the pvc pipe with the purple primer would it have to sit and cure before I put it in the tank? What size/brand pump should I use? I will have 5 outlets in the tank one at each corner and one in the middle. I would rather go overkill on the pump than fall short and just install ball valves on all the returns. I'm getting excited about it...cant wait to get all the ph's off the glass.

Thanks,
Rich
__________________
acid_burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 09:34 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Drawing water over the top will be fine but you will probably need to prime the pump. Since you will be pulling water up and over the top of the tank should to much air get into the intake the syphono will break and the close loop will run dry. Most pumps are not designed to operate dry for more than a breif period of time.

I would not paint the pipe with pvc primer. Instead use plastic rated spraypaint or something like that. When it comes to sizing the pump you have to know what kind of flow you want. Then pick something a little larger to compensate for all the plumbing joints.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 09:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 805
Send a message via AIM to Mr Burns
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfreek
I would not paint the pipe with pvc primer. Instead use plastic rated spraypaint or something like that.
i wouldn't even do that. using RIT Dye is by far the best way i've seen used to color pvc and you'll never have to worry about paint or harmful chemicals getting into the water.
__________________
"If this were a dictatorship, it'd be a heck of a lot easier...just as long as I'm the dictator..."
--George W. Bush, Washington, DC, Dec 18, 2000
Mr Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 10:30 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 12
Rit dye? Cool! I have been looking for a way!
__________________

__________________
Hold Anchovies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using closed loop? Scatcat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 06-18-2005 10:33 PM
Closed loop on 2.5 penguinsix General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 04-18-2005 03:39 PM
what is a closed loop? guitarded Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-18-2004 11:31 PM
Best way to do a closed loop? pomme Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-27-2004 10:50 AM
Closed loop puffer DIY Projects 18 03-17-2003 11:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.