Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2012, 02:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Water change and transfer

I do a 5 gallon water change every week and tired of lifting and spilling bucket. I don't have the patience level to scoop it out. What kind of water transfer pumps do you guys use. I found some but they require oil in the water inlet ever so often to keep them lubricated. I dont want that Lube oil in my tank so those are out. What's your equipment ?
__________________

__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Just get a python or a marina aquavac. They work great, Google it. It attaches to your sink.
__________________

__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by paytertot
Just get a python or a marina aquavac. They work great, Google it. It attaches to your sink.
Sorry I should have said its a saltwater tank I have to mix it and do water tests before it goes in tank
__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Oh, my bad. I'm not sure then, sorry
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I actually mix my water on top of a sink,in a 5 gallon bucket, and when its ready to get put into the tank during a PWC, I use a hose to siphon water into a 1 gallon bottle, and then dump that into the tank. I just run the hose to the tank and fill up the bottle right next to it, so I don't have to break the siphon with every gallon. I just lift the bottle and the hose high enough to break it, dump the water in, then put the hose back in the 1 gallon, and lower it, repeat... I keep dry and it's pretty quick.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 05:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jacobdlaw610's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benamayer
I actually mix my water on top of a sink,in a 5 gallon bucket, and when its ready to get put into the tank during a PWC, I use a hose to siphon water into a 1 gallon bottle, and then dump that into the tank. I just run the hose to the tank and fill up the bottle right next to it, so I don't have to break the siphon with every gallon. I just lift the bottle and the hose high enough to break it, dump the water in, then put the hose back in the 1 gallon, and lower it, repeat... I keep dry and it's pretty quick.
Nice that doesnt sound bad thanks for the advice
__________________
Jacobdlaw610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Majbarsalona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 374
You could also use a very strong power head or some type of pump to pump water from the bucket into the tank
__________________
Majbarsalona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I just use a 435gph pump by Aqueon. Works great. I do do 35 gallon water changes weekly though, so I need something with some pretty hefty output.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:38 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Infinity Aquascapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Avon Indiana
Posts: 71
I use a 500gph power head and a 6ft section of a garden hose for any transferring I do. Works very well and was cheap$20 eBay power head $6 hose from Walmart.
__________________

__________________
Infinity Aquascapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, transfer, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.