Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-13-2009, 02:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester,IND
Posts: 6
Wet Dry in the basement?

Can I put the trickle filter in the basement? I will have three tanks two 50Gal. one 20Gal.I'm thinking of using Thu the back overflows to one TF then three pumps in the sump one to each tank. I know head presser will be a factor in selecting pumps 10 to 14 feet. This will be for freshwater. My straight jacket size is medium and I have had a number of them sent to me over the years.LOL. IF this can work what size would the wet dry tank be? Can a heater or two be put in the filter tank. where would you put the mechanical filter/s. Or if I'm on the wrong site for this kind of question can you send me a site that is better suited? Thank you for your time.
__________________

__________________
Rob.F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:42 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Welcome to AA!
Yes, you can put your filter in the basement. I have my sump setup in my basement directly under my tank. I would use at least a 30g tank for the filter. You can put all your mechanical filtratation in it along with your heaters. You can also get away with just using 1 high flow return pump and branch it out to return to the 3 tanks. You can either drill the tank and use an external pump or something like a Mag 12 or 18 internal pump, depending on your flow rate and head pressure.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester,IND
Posts: 6
Thank you I thout I had gone off the deep end.LOL
__________________
Rob.F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 10:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob.F View Post
Thank you I thout I had gone off the deep end.LOL
you did but here that's not a bad thing. it just means bigger and better and more complex tanks and systems.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 02:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishEggs View Post
you did but here that's not a bad thing. it just means bigger and better and more complex tanks and systems.
I love complex systems!
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 03:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Just put up a "No Diving" sign!
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 02:59 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester,IND
Posts: 6
Well I live on a river and the last two springs have made the basement a wading pool just to complicate things more.
__________________
Rob.F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 10:56 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 71
an interesting idea you might want to try would be to use a large and tall pvc pipe (like 4" by 5') as a mechanical filter. Have the water headed out of your tanks drop into the top of this with some kind of easy to get to large particle strainer at the top so you can easily clean this, then stuff the rest with bio balls or filter fiber or ceramics, or really anything. Then have the bottom of the pipe sit in your tank. It's over kill in one of the grandest senses, but hey, nothing TOO wrong with over kill.
__________________
epsolon77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 06:06 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
one main thing you need to keep in mind when using a centralized filtration system, is that if for some reason you get an outbreak in one tank (ich, fungal, etc.) all of your tanks will be effected.
__________________

__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, dry, wet, wet dry

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wet Vs. Dry FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-18-2006 02:19 PM
Looking at a new wet/dry. GatorDrew Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 06-03-2006 04:26 PM
I want a WET/DRY Brian Vartanian General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-17-2006 09:28 AM
Wet/Dry hardparts2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-31-2004 08:24 PM
How much wet/dry is to much? 03shee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-26-2004 11:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.