Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2010, 11:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
what silicone to use?

ive heard that the ge window and door silicone without mildew and algacide stuff will work on a aquarium but i was wondering if anyone has actually used it? i dont want people just sayin it should and it be the cause of my tank to crash
__________________

__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 11:47 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Troy, NH
Posts: 118
I used it on my 72 gallon bowfront for a complete reseal that was 4 months ago. Works great. I made sure to let it cure until I could not smell it anymore and then I filled the tank and flushed it out before I added anything permenant
__________________

__________________
~Warren
Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing. Wernher von Braun
This message was transmitted on 100% recycled electrons
eyring2210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 11:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
that is correct.... i'm pretty sure it is the GE I, just make sure it is 100% pure silicone and makes no mention of anti mildew or mold additives... also make sure you get clear unless you want white or black. Make sure you let it cure until you cant smell the silicone smell anymore (i would also do an extra 24-48 hours afterwards just so you're 100% sure its cured) and you'll be fine
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 12:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well curing will be fine itll be another week til tank sees any water. and i wonder if id have to re fill and empty again. this tank weighs 200 pounds without water lol
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 07:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
I have this question as well, but when I was looking at the bottle of GE silicone I, I read on the bottle that it said 'not for use where FDA compliance is necessary or aquariums'. So this is a bit of a conflict. I've read plenty where people say GE silicone I is safe, and then I've read others that say dont use anything that isnt FDA compliant. These statements seem to be exclusive as you cant have both.

(bottle was stock no 012a)
__________________
feystorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 07:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well i jsut decided to pay 4 bucks to aquarium safe stuff. i had some left over from a 3 oz tube
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 07:59 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
thousands have used GE I over the years, including me. I have others available that say ideal for aquariums. You can't go by "100% silicone" on the tube, as GE II is 100% silicone as is the kitchen and bathroom versions which have mildewcide.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 08:09 PM   #8
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Yeah.. i use GE Silicone I as well. It is aquarium safe. The reason it says on the tube, "not for use below the water line or aquariums," is because a while back, GE was working in compliance with AGA tanks, and another big aquarium manufacturer. All of the larger tanks 100G+ that used the GE silicone were beginning to fail, and split under pressure of the water. They no longer have that partnership with AGA or any other aquarium company, and in order to protect themselves, they say not to use it on aquariums.

In light of this, i wouldn't recommend using it to reseal a tank.. if it's a large tank, but if you want to use it to reseal one glass pane, or to secure baffles in a sump, i say go for it. I used it on baffles in my sump and this stuff is very strong and durable. You just need to let it cure for the amount of time specified on the bottle.

Also, just a little word of advice to all that may consider using GE I Silicone, if after a while, you start to notice the color of the silicone turn a yellowish color, do NOT worry. It happens to some people that use it, and sometimes it doesn't. It happened to me, but the color fades out in a few weeks to the normal clear color. However, the GE I silicone WILL turn a greenish/blueish color if there is copper present in your water... so beware if you have inverts or a reef tank and you see your silicone turn that color.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 08:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
well my tank is 58 gallon and all i need the silicone for was because the po didnt clean it to well and algae had gotten under some of the silicone so i just cut that off and covered and the silicone that wasnt cut out.
__________________
two 10g nanoreef, 44g corner fw, 700g pond
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 08:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
Yeah.. i use GE Silicone I as well. It is aquarium safe. The reason it says on the tube, "not for use below the water line or aquariums," is because a while back, GE was working in compliance with AGA tanks, and another big aquarium manufacturer. All of the larger tanks 100G+ that used the GE silicone were beginning to fail, and split under pressure of the water. They no longer have that partnership with AGA or any other aquarium company, and in order to protect themselves, they say not to use it on aquariums.
Thanks a bunch. Nice to have a detailed explanation on this. Couldnt find anything elsewhere.
__________________

__________________
feystorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
silicone

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silicone sdellin Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-09-2006 11:18 PM
silicone ???? batfire General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-25-2006 12:40 AM
silicone nodoubt471 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-21-2005 10:16 AM
Right Silicone? JohnNLuc Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-23-2005 05:40 PM
Is GE Silicone I (100% silicone) OK for use in tanks? targaboy78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-15-2002 07:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.