Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2005, 07:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 23
Will my nitrate reactor work?

Hello all, I'm working on a nitrate reactor for my saltwater tank and wanted to know if you think it would work. I'm running a 55 FWLR. I do not have a skimmer(yet!), 3 powerheads(470g/hr), 40 lbs. crushed coral substrate, 1 Power Filter, and 8 fish. I know that 8 fish are too much for this size tank, but hopefully this reacor will help reduce my weekly water changes(RO/DI or Ocean Water from the beach).

[center:b4cb853d68][/center:b4cb853d68]

ok. I don't currently have a digital camera so I created this pic for ya. As you can see it is 2 inch PVC at 43 inches tall with 1/4 inch input/output. Now when I tested this thing out I was cycling a half(1/2) gallon in 20 minutes. If my calculations are correct that would be 1.5 gal/hour which then comes out to 36 gallons a day passing through this chamber.

My question is this: Will 36 gallons a day be enough water flow for this to work or is it not enough or too much.

Sorry for all the repeat pics.
Attached Images
   
__________________

__________________
sschofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 07:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
You know beach sand and water is full of pollutants...
__________________

__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 10:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 23
I realize that there is a chance of getting more than I bargain for with the beach water, but I filter it as much as I can before putting it into the tank. But on the other hand my LFS only use ocean water in their tanks, so I don't think it will be a problem.. Back to my original question, do you think my Nitrate Reactor will work?
__________________
sschofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 12:00 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: santa cruz california
Posts: 325
Send a message via AIM to foma2000
i think it should. it really is the slower the flow the better for a nitrate reactor, but i think where you have it is good. is the input just straight down to the bottom or does it coil? the longer the tube down to the bottom of the reactor the better and the more water it can process. also be pationt. it will take a long time(up to 6 weeks) for it to start working cause all the bacteria has to grow
__________________
there once was a kid named colin. he looked just like a gorilla. his name wasn't magilla, because it was colin.
foma2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 12:16 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 23
I realize that there is a chance of getting more than I bargain for with the beach water, but I filter it as much as I can before putting it into the tank. But on the other hand my LFS only use ocean water in their tanks, so I don't think it will be a problem.. Back to my original question, do you think my Nitrate Reactor will work?
__________________
sschofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 12:20 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 23
Thanks for your reply foma2000, the input goes straight down to the bottom. I thought about coiling it but opted for straight. Thanks again for your help
__________________
sschofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 01:19 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
I think it needs to coil to allow the water time to use up and oxygen left in the water. I may be wrong but I understood that as being the reason for the coils.
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 01:28 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: santa cruz california
Posts: 325
Send a message via AIM to foma2000
RMPD109 is right the coils are so that it takes longer for the water to reach the bottom. that way arobic bacteria can grow in the coils and use up all the 02. it would also be a good idea to but some bio balls or other such media in the center of the tube for anarobic bacteria to grow (the ones that dont want any 02). putting the bio balls in the center will alow more anarobic bacteria to grow and there for make your reactor more effecient
__________________
there once was a kid named colin. he looked just like a gorilla. his name wasn't magilla, because it was colin.
foma2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 03:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 23
Thank you RMPD109 and foma2000 for the advice. I will coil the tubing instead of straight down. Also I was going to fill the chamber with Seachem Matrix Filter Media that I ordered last night from :

http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_...em.asp?CartId=

__________________
sschofie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 03:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
Check out this link which has some DIY plans. More importantly it gives you explenations of why it works and some ways to regulate it.

http://www.aloha.net/~hqf/indexdondenitrator.htm
__________________

__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrate, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting nitrate removal media in Reactor? Squado Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-14-2006 10:21 PM
nitrate reducers work? Jonathan G. Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-07-2005 11:32 AM
Nitrate Reactor aquafreak DIY Projects 3 01-31-2005 04:22 PM
Aqua Medic Membrane Diffuser vs. Reactor 1000 co2 reactor AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-30-2004 01:17 AM
Idea...filter to reactor...will it work? dansemacabre DIY Projects 0 02-06-2004 09:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.