Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2011, 07:02 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dude1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleethorpes uk
Posts: 372
Wiring a ballast. Help please !

Can anyone help me wire up a ballast please. I think I have wired up the endcaps correctly but I have no idea how to wire a plug to it. It only has 2 ports on the left hand side of the ballast to play with ? Thanks Lee.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-836171365.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	32.2 KB
ID:	55990   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2297084263.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	55991  

__________________

__________________
Dude1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 10:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
It looks like 9&10 go to one end of the lamp and 11&12 connect to the other end. 3&4 are connected to 220 to 240 AC.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 01:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dude1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleethorpes uk
Posts: 372
Thanks ezy I have the endcaps wired up. But I'm not sure how to power this baby. Could I just wire up a plug and cable to 3 and 4 ? Also would I have to put a starter inline on the live cable ?
__________________
Dude1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 05:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dude1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleethorpes uk
Posts: 372
I'm guessing 3 and 4 are a live and neutral ?
__________________
Dude1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:38 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ausfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude1982
I'm guessing 3 and 4 are a live and neutral ?
AC(alternating current) has no phases, which means it doesn't matter in what order you wire them. Get a standard 230 volt plug with 2 phases and connect them to 3 and 4. Then two 2-pole cables that go to each end of the lamp as shown in the picture on the ballast.
__________________
___________________________________
my 30g reef with refugium
Ausfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 02:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dude1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleethorpes uk
Posts: 372
That's great thanks so much ausfish. So I would just wire a 2 core cable and plug to 3 and 4, but what about the starter ? Would that just go inline on the live cable to 3 or 4 ?
__________________
Dude1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:55 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ausfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
All my ballasts don't require a starter, I have a switch that cuts power to one of the supply cords on the lamp-side. But in my case my bulbs have the starter built in. Sorry I cant be more help there.
__________________
___________________________________
my 30g reef with refugium
Ausfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dude1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleethorpes uk
Posts: 372
Woohoo thanks again ausfish I have got it running now !
__________________
Dude1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ausfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
I'm glad it worked!
__________________
___________________________________
my 30g reef with refugium
Ausfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 05:14 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dude1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleethorpes uk
Posts: 372
Crap lol I have a 5x2x2ft tank and the bulb is a 54w and it's literally 1/2 and inch too long for my tank .
__________________

__________________
Dude1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ballast

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lighting Ballast help Dave91 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-20-2011 07:50 PM
T5HO Ballast Question e_murray General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-26-2011 10:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.