Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2014, 12:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
55 G water change, how?

I'm wanting to upgrade again! Lol I still do bucket water changes. How the heck do you do this with a 55 gallon?? I don't want to use buckets. What other options are there without putting your fish in shock?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 12:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
A python water changer is the best bet. It siphons water directly from your tank into the sink and fills straight from the tap.

When you use it just temperature match the water before you put it back into the tank and dose prime to the full volume of the tank.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 01:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
A python water changer is the best bet. It siphons water directly from your tank into the sink and fills straight from the tap.

When you use it just temperature match the water before you put it back into the tank and dose prime to the full volume of the tank.
+1

If it wasn't for the Python I don't think I would have kept up with my maintenance early on. On the other hand, I probably also would have had less tanks......
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 01:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CoronaBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Idaho
Posts: 402
Python is similar product works well. In my case my sink is too far away so I drain water out a window and made my own refill line that attaches to the sink. Had to buy 70 feet of clear tubing and an adapter to attach it to the sink but works great.
__________________
CoronaBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 06:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,353
Water Changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by KristaButler View Post
I'm wanting to upgrade again! Lol I still do bucket water changes. How the heck do you do this with a 55 gallon?? I don't want to use buckets. What other options are there without putting your fish in shock?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Hello Kris...

I have a 20 gallon, 45 gallon, two 55 gallon and a 60 gallon tank. Still change the water with the buckets. Have been for 10 years or so. But it takes no more than an hour or so per tank and that includes filter cleaning, and I do one tank a day. Not overwhelming. If you go the python route, post something. If it really works for you, I may want to change. It may be the old dog, new tricks thing though.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 09:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Awesome you guys!! I think my father used an adapter for sink to garden hose to drain and fill. It dawned on me today. I'm going to check out this python thing tho. I can tolerate moving 10 gallons for changes but anymore is just too tiring. Lol. I will def post what I decide to do.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 09:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 1,303
CoronaBlue - I had the same problem...I used a garden hose. I just put the adapter on the end of the garden hose and joined the garden hose to the Python hose.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 10:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CoronaBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Idaho
Posts: 402
It's going to come in real handy starting Sunday. Just bought a 125 gal tank today. Picking it up this weekend. Couldn't even fathom filling 125 gallon with buckets.
__________________
CoronaBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 11:08 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Lol. That would be a work out!!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 11:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fish wrangler's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NE Illinois
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello Kris...

I have a 20 gallon, 45 gallon, two 55 gallon and a 60 gallon tank. Still change the water with the buckets. Have been for 10 years or so. But it takes no more than an hour or so per tank and that includes filter cleaning, and I do one tank a day. Not overwhelming. If you go the python route, post something. If it really works for you, I may want to change. It may be the old dog, new tricks thing though.

B
I do buckets with my 29...if it ain't broke don't fix it IMO

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
3 tanks
a 29 gallon high tech planted Chasing Red, a 20 long low tech, and a 75 gallon salty adventure
fish wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, change, water, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did a water change during a fishless cycle. Anything I should change? chrono1081 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 03-25-2012 04:25 PM
Max pH Change at Water Change tlkng1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-25-2011 07:03 PM
Water change - sit for a week - cloudy after change satch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-07-2008 06:58 PM
To water change or not to water change. that is the question Andari Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 01-05-2007 05:38 PM
When should I do my 1st water change? And water change ? stew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-11-2003 02:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.