A New Appreciation For The Hobby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Paty

Aquarium Advice Regular
About a year ago what a saw today wouldn't have phased me as much as it did today, but after delving into this wonderful new hobby I have come to appreciate how amazing fish really are and appreciate how much time, effort, and knowledge it takes to run a successful tank. I think it's a great thing and I have enjoyed learning so much from all of you.

I'm an SIUE student and today was the beginning of our Springfest. The students have a bunch of carnival type booths set up for the students to participate in for free. So, naturally they have the ring-toss game where if you can get the ring on the neck of the bottle you're rewarded with a nice fish to take home.

These fish, most of them being goldfish, were kept in small bags with only 2'' of water, and with food coloring additives to match the color of each fish. I understand that things like this occur all the time, but this is this first time it's really gotten to me. :(

I overheard one of the conversations of one of the girls that had just one a fish, and she was being told by one of the other girls that food coloring was actually bad for the fish, and her only response was, "Oh well, it's just a fish"

I guess all I'm saying is that I feel bad for those people who don't really appreciate how great fish are, and even worse for the fish that have to endure conditions such as these because of these unappreciative people.

I just got out of class and felt the sudden need to share this story with people that would understand where I'm coming from. : )

I definitely understand where you're coming from Paty, and if you'd find a sympathetic ear anywhere, it would be here. I share your distaste for this treatment, and also find people's complete apathy appalling. "Just fish!" Ugh!:mad: