Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2005, 01:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Anti-virus, Anti-spyware software can really screw up

Well, I just spent 3 hours with Mcafee online tech support. My privacy software was rating me as a child each time I signed on, and my filter setting kept getting reset to the most restrictive no matter what I did. Rather that uninstall and reinstall right from the start, I contacted tech support and followed their directions. After two hours I ended up with completely nonfunctional anti-virus, anti-spyware, and privacy software that would not uninstall or re-install. Another half hour with tech support to use backdoors to the rigistry files to erase the mess, and another half hour to re-install the software. seems to be working now. If I didn't have 6 months left on the subscription I would have just switched to Norton.

They had no explanation why it worked for 6 months, then went wacky. Bet it was one of their automatic updates.
__________________

__________________
TomK2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 01:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Front Royal VA
Posts: 1,147
Geesh!!
I have norton, and have never had any probs. (knock on wood)
I also have a program called Go Back.
If I do something that messes my computer up, I click on the go back and it will re-configure my computer to the last setting that I want. I can go back hours, days, or weeks. Only drawback is, anything that I may have been working on is lost. So you have to be careful. but it really is a great program!
__________________

__________________
Melody is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Melody, do you have a Gateway?
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 04:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Front Royal VA
Posts: 1,147
Dell refurb
__________________
Melody is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 04:38 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
I can't imagine what went wrong Tom(!?). That is so abnormal it's hard to express the proper concern. I assume you run XP and the tech supp folks were as dumbfounded as you about the problem?
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 06:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
This is why all the cool people use Norton.


Only Communists use McAfee
__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 06:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jchillin
I can't imagine what went wrong Tom(!?). That is so abnormal it's hard to express the proper concern. I assume you run XP and the tech supp folks were as dumbfounded as you about the problem?
Mcafee tech support said there was a problem with the "permissions" that the mcafee software had. The solution they walked me through produced a total failure of the software. All they would say was that "there are many reasons" for the problem. Seems to be back to normal now.

edit: oh yeah. Using xp home.
__________________
TomK2 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
I use every Anti-????? program I can get. This is because they come free when I but softwear . Building your own computer is a lot better but sometimes hard for people. This is because you can make changes to it. I set up a "RAID" which keeps an exact copy of what evers on hard drive one, on hard drive two.
__________________
Kasakato is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
Raid 1 duplicates the drive, but if a malicious program affects the main drive, it effects the clone drive to.
__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
I also have a Anti-????? check before it copies.
__________________

__________________
Kasakato is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
software

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anti-Social Tetra Sharkbutter Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 1 06-19-2009 12:42 AM
Anti-social CAE Apocalypse_Gold Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 01-05-2006 08:55 PM
anti parasite food patagonia Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 12-12-2005 12:33 AM
what do anti-fungal or anti-ICK meds do to plants? Robo Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 1 01-25-2004 07:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.